We're Winter Texans!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Pharr
January 15th 2010
Published: January 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Not an uncommon sightNot an uncommon sightNot an uncommon sight

in this area. I'd like to find out what the graffitti means, and who does it, and when they have time, and why they're not making money from their artistic talent. (I just haven't found anyone to ask!)

(Grace Community Church)


A friend of ours from Billings has a place not far from here, over on the Gulf, and he came over to the project to see us on last Thursday. We hadn’t planned on going to Mexico, but after we visited for a time, we decided to go, and Bob and I we decided to make a trip in the rain, mostly because we were grateful to have an experienced tourist go with us the first time. We’ve been to Tijuana, and Acapulco, but nothing could have prepared us for Progresso; it’s a small town (I guess…we were advised not to go more than a block either side of the main street). The main street is about eight blocks long, and is just filled with shops on the inside of the sidewalk, and little stands on the street side. Lots of people, selling lots of stuff to lots of Americans; it was much like a flea market. The winter Texans (aka: Yankees!) do a lot of doctoring down there, especially dental work, and I’d say half the businesses were dentists or pharmacies. I am shocked when I see army guys on the streets with their
We took a trip into MexicoWe took a trip into MexicoWe took a trip into Mexico

with a Montana friend (hi,Greg!) who has been there many many times, and could explain what to do and what not to do...important stuff to know! See Bob walking? We're smart enough not to drive in!
big weapons. They weren’t walking the streets, but mostly just hung out at the border, but they kept their rifles in hand. It got my attention, that’s for sure!

This area has thousands of grackles~~they look like blackbirds, except their tails are longer, and wedge shaped. They have a pleasant song, but not pleasant poop…and lots of both. After the sun goes down they fill the trees in the parking lots of stores, and it’s not uncommon to see cars with droppings on them. Some had left their marks on the skylight above our shower, and as it seemed to both me more than Bob, I climbed up there and cleaned it off. Then I climbed down, looked up through the skylight, and climbed back up to clean the rest off. (The skylight is darkened, and it’s hard to see down into the shower…probably not a bad thing!) That night I got in the shower and darn if they hadn’t flown over and dropped more! It was no more or less than before, but apparently they don’t care for clean skylights!

There’s a small, but crowded, trailer park behind us, and I’d guess, by the volume of the
Welcome to Mexico...Welcome to Mexico...Welcome to Mexico...

make yourself at home.
music, that most of the people are young; we can hear a few little kids, but not a lot. Anyway, there’s an ice cream truck that drives through the neighborhood every afternoon…in January. Try to figure that one!

There’s not much to report work-wise, because the men are doing odd jobs, and the women are cleaning and organizing. We’ve been working on organizing Sunday school stuff (aka: material!) and it does make me want to teach a class! Did I tell you there are two SOWER couples (similar to RVICS, but different name) here, and they do morning worship with us, and have been coming to our socials. One of the women is working with us. They’re very nice people, and it’s fun to have more than three couples.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

I didn't have the frog legs becauseI didn't have the frog legs because
I didn't have the frog legs because

I couldn't decide whether to have them fried or broiled! Oh, and also because they don't sound good, or filling. Gees, how many frog legs would it take to fill you up???? And what do they do with the rest of the frog....I wonder if it's served in the tamales?!
They were making and selling theThey were making and selling the
They were making and selling the

tortillas right on a machine that rolled the dough for them. (The red ones are tomato, but I'm not sure what makes the others green...frog crossed my mind, but I doubt it!)
I can make this picture sadder....I can make this picture sadder....
I can make this picture sadder....

It wasn't a kid holding the cap, it was an old woman. We're on the Mexican side, approaching customs, and the bridge is high off the ground at this point. I couldn't see what she was standing on, as Greg was hurrying us along!
He is stationed at the end of theHe is stationed at the end of the
He is stationed at the end of the

street leading to the international bridge. I didn't notice him when we went in, but when we were leaving I saw the camouflage barrier, and looked closely to see what it was. When I focused on seeing through the netting, my eyes weren't a foot from the eyes on the other side! Then I looked across the street to see the one from the backside.
Our Grace Community Church Team:Our Grace Community Church Team:
Our Grace Community Church Team:

Larry and Ruth are the ones who we met when they were on project in Sidney, and Dan and Jill are new friends to us! It's a great team!


20th January 2010

Ha ha! I'm the first to comment on your blog! YYEEESSSS!!! P.S. Good blog, Mom :)
21st January 2010

Hi, Sara!
You have too much time on your hands!! Go find out what my grandsons are doing!
23rd January 2010

Mexico trip
Vicki, Glad to hear that you and Bob did go into Mexico with your friend, afterall. But a little bit sad that that we were not with you.
24th January 2010

Hi, Rosi!
Have you guys been there? Maybe next month?
28th January 2010

tortillas
The green tortillas that I have had were made out of spinach! And they were good. Fresh made tortillas, yummy! My friend Francis makes them but I don't think she uses a fancy machine.
29th January 2010

Hi!
Thanks for this input!

Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.1531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb