Trip of a Lifetime


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Houston
February 18th 2005
Published: January 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Paris Trip 2005

Houston to Paris non-stop

It hardly seems possible that only 3 weeks ago it never even occurred to me to go to France and now Erika and I are heading off to the airport for our flight.....

Since the flight wasn't until late afternoon we decided to work until noon. We then headed to my house where Mom and Dad were to drive us to the airport. After a few last minute details and instructions to Mom and Dad about Matthew we threw the suitcases in the truck and headed out.

We arrived at IAH airport at about 2:00 pm and got checked in pretty quickly. Since we were there with lots of time to spare we had some lunch at Subway and excitedly chattered on about all the things we were going to do and how we couldn't believe we were actually at the airport about to head across the ocean. After our lunch we decided to get a few euros so we would have a bit of cash on hand- at the ridiculous rate of $1.42/1 Euro (Tip #1 - don't exchange money at the airport if possible or at least exchange as little as possible).

At 4:00 pm we boarded the Air France flight and departed on time at 4:30 pm. Unfortunately I was stuck in the middle between Erika (not a problem) and some lady. I knew it was going to be a long, long flight cramped in that little seat. We were served supper on the plane. I had some veal with rice and cake. They also had some cheese that was quite foul smelling but I tried it anyway- it tasted worse than it smelled. I think it was Camembert. I then watched a movie "Without a paddle" which was quite funny, flicked through old sitcoms on my TV and tried to sleep...very unsuccessfully. I don't think I even dozed off for a minute but morning finally arrived.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb