East Texas Weekend


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Galveston
August 26th 2008
Published: August 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

LighthouseLighthouseLighthouse

Port Bolivar, TX
My weekend in east Texas turned out to be rather interesting. Although I wasn’t able to take as many pictures as I wanted because of the stormy weather, I did get to see places I had not seen before.

We (my companion and I) left San Antonio on Friday morning and headed east on interstate 10. It’s a pretty boring, uneventful drive. I have driven it so many times (mostly for work-related reasons) that I feel like I know every crack and crevice along the road. Interstate 10 (both east and west) in Texas is a major truck route so the truckers think they own the road and drive accordingly. Don’t get me wrong-- I know truckers are essential to the economy and without them we would have nothing to buy-- but man, they are a unpredictable bunch. They can be quite intimidating too, especially when you’re in a little VW. It is easy to get stressed when they are bearing down on you.

So anyway, the drive through Houston and into the areas east went smoothly. My companion and I settled down for the night in a little town called Winnie, TX, where nothing much is happening. I
The Great EgretThe Great EgretThe Great Egret

The Great Egret is an astute hunter.
marvel at small towns… what do the people do for a living there? What do they do for fun? I mean, there was nothing there-- just a couple of fast food places, gas stations, and a donut shop. It seems like it would be such a strange life. Isolated. Out of touch.

We got a good night’s rest and then got up early Saturday to head to the Gulf of Mexico. We took a little two lane road that crossed several bayous (east Texas euphemism for “drainage ditch”) and then crossed the Inter-coastal Waterway where we saw loads of barge traffic. We headed for High Island and then south to Port Bolivar. Parts of High Island (including the main roadway leading north) are still suffering from the ill effects of Hurricane Rita which hit back in September of 2005. The area is notorious for taking direct hurricane hits. The eastern side of Texas is curved inward from so many storm surges and monstrous erosion.

At the very tip of Port Bolivar there is an old lighthouse (circa 1850) and a ferry. I snapped a few pictures of the lighthouse and also of a Great Egret (Ardea alba) who
Snowy EgretSnowy EgretSnowy Egret

Much smaller than the Great Egret. I really like the yellow feet!
just happened to be fishing in the marsh. I was disappointed that I didn’t see more seabirds, but as I continue to research them I am realizing that it’s better to view them in the fall and spring. I did catch another picture of an Egret-- this time it’s the Snowy Egret (Egretta thula). There is also the ubiquitous Laughing Gull (Leucophaeus atricilla). Though very common, they are truly beautiful seabirds who still command my attention and make me smile.

The beaches along the peninsula are relatively unremarkable. The tide just sort of slowly meanders in because the water is so shallow. The shallowness extends further out than some of the beaches in south Texas where there is much more wave action. With such little water circulation, there is a faint smell of sulfur in the air and the water looks dirty brown. It doesn’t stop the hoards of people flocking to it, though. There isn’t a square inch of the beach that is not occupied with a home or a condo and there were many people swimming in the surf… well, the mini surf.

On the way back to Winnie, I thought out loud about getting my
ShellsShellsShells

Stormy beach; broken shells
plans together for a book about all the broken-down homes and businesses that litter the sides of the roadways. What happened to the owners? When did the dream die? Why did it die? My companion thinks I am a bit morose.

By the same token, I wonder about all the craggy trees along the road. Where did nature go wrong?



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Laughing GullsLaughing Gulls
Laughing Gulls

They are very friendly and will take food right from your hand!


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb