And the winner is...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Fort Worth
June 1st 2011
Published: June 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

The main reason for my adding to the blog is that I have been asked about the winners of the cheesecake, cupcake, and cheeseburger contests! I have to say that Roxy is my favorite in both the cheesecake and cheeseburger category. I really didn't have a bad piece of cheesecake but I like theirs the best, especially the toffee heath bar! My second place was Stage Deli, and my least favorite was Lindy's. On cheeseburgers, Cozy's was my second favorite and Mother Burger my least favorite. As far as cupcakes, Magnolia Bakery won hands down. Their white on white was amazing and no one else even came close. In fact I couldn't even finish the one from Junior's. On my next stay in NY I decided I would never eat at the same place twice. There are so many places and on this trip I tended to go back too many times to the same place. Next time, more adventurous with the restaurants!

My last days in the northeast continued to be wonderful! I loved being with Shelley, Jason, Olivia, Andrew, Isaac, and Eloise so much!! Shelley and I went to see "Bridesmaids" Thursday night and I actually stayed till the end. It was so much better than I thought it would be! We took off Friday to Greenwich, CT which is very upscale and beautiful!! I got to spend a lot of time with the kids and also help Shelley and Jay with their boxes and organization so it was a great week! They are all so special to me!! Unfortunately we forgot to take more pictures!!

Saturday I took the train, two subways, and another two trains to get to NJ, to spend my last weekend with Stacey and Johnny. We went to see "Hangover II," which was very funny, obscene, of course, but really laugh out loud funny. I loved every minute with those two; they are wonderful! And...Stacey and I both forgot to take any pics!!

Sunday was a quiet day until at 3:00 I realized that my plane was leaving from La Guardia instead of Newark at 6:00. So Stacey and I jumped in the car and headed to La Guardia. Thanks to her expert driving in the city we made it in plenty of time and things were looking good. The flight left on time and was headed for a very brief lay over in Milwaukee, when we were diverted to Madison due to fog. We sat on the plane for three hours, the federal limit, in Madison, deplaned and sat in the closed airport for another couple of hours. They actually sent employees to the grocery store for food since nothing was open. Around 1:30 we were bused, baggage and all, back to Milwaukee, arrived at 3, and everyone had to re-book flights to wherever they were going. One of the worst parts was maneuvering all of my baggage, two large and heavy suitcases, plus a carry on, all over the place and I wasn't able to check it until 5. I attempted to "sleep" on the dirty, nasty, and freezing floor of the airport before checking my bags, going through security, to get to my gate two hours early. But I made it to DFW by 10:15 and was so happy to see Maggie that I didn't even care!!

Yesterday, the girls and I looked at a couple of apartments, decided on one, and today I signed a lease. Emily will be living with me for her last year of law school and we are in a very cool area of downtown Ft. Worth. Quite a change for me but one I intend to embrace!!

OK...this really is my last blog entry! Thanks again for all of your support and I look forward to talking with each of you in other formats! Love to all!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb