Getting Closer...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Fort Worth
June 9th 2009
Published: June 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's Monday night and the stress of getting ready to leave for South America is growing. My list of things to do is pretty lengthy, but at least I'm making progress. Still, I only have tomorrow to do a ton of stuff -- some of it is pretty important.

My itinerary is pretty well locked in now. About a 7-10 days in Iquitos (including four down river in the jungle) and 5-7 days in Cusco with a couple of days visiting Machu Picchu tucked in there followed by a day or two in Lima before flying back to the US. The only change might be leaving Iquitos a little early and heading to Cusco a couple of days early to visit one of the Sunday markets. I worry that the heat and humidity of Iquitos might take a toll on me after awhile.

In Iquitos, I'll be staying at the usual place, the Hotel Acosta. It's not fancy, but it's very comfortable and they really take care of me there. I've been so many times over the years that they treat me like family. In Cusco, I'll stay at the Hostal Peregrino. I've been talking back and forth with one of the managers there and I have been impressed by the quick and considerable help he has given me. Every review of the hotel that I can find has been positive and the location -- only a few meters from the main Plaza on a pedestrian -- meaning quiet -- street makes it a lucky choice, especially considering I will be there at the busiest week of the year when the Inti Raymi celebration is coming to a climax on the 24th.

In about 48 hours I should be landing in Lima. Nine or ten hours after that should find me drinking coffee a few yards from the Amazon River with friends in the middle of the rainforest. How cool is that?!

More to come tomorrow. Got to start packing now. Trying to make it with just two carry-on bags...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb