Ray Roberts State Park, Texas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Denton
June 21st 2013
Published: June 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Another travel nurse and I ventured down to Ray Roberts State Park in Texas. Nice time away in the hot weather, talking about family, relationships, boyfriends, work, and more work. It was about 3 hours away. On our way we stopped in a town called Nocona. We wanted to go to Nocona Boots but they moved their store to El Paso. We did go to a Antique store and walked down their two-three block main street where everyone was "out to lunch" between 12-1. We stopped for lunch at The Center Restaurant and Tavernin Muenster, TX for German food. Another small town in Texas, this had a German theme. Pretty tasty food and great Mango Pina Colada.

This state park lays just north of Dallas/Fort Worth. Many adequate camping sites and camper hookups. We ended up going to two different branches within Ray Roberts on the shores of Ray Roberts lake. Entrance to the park = $7/each. Camp site w/out electricity = $15/night. Campsite w/ electricity = $25/night. I thought it was pretty reasonable.

First we headed to Isle Du Bois entrance right outside of Pilot Point, TX. We stayed in the Deer Ridge campsite with electric. It was a peaceful first night. In the morning, I went exploring. I ended up walking at least 3 miles around the Isle Du Bois park entrance. The most I have walked in years-so it seems. Along the way, took a lot of nature photos.

After my long walk and a few hours on the beach, we headed for lunch. We ended up going to locally owned Lucy's Mom's on Main in Aubrey, TX (just south of the lake). Very friendly family that runs the Restaurant/Cafe. My friend ended up buying two jars of homemade (by the owner) jam. I think it was a little on the pricey side because it was lunch but I was willing to shell it out because it was a locally owned business. The person that owned it, ran it, was at the register, made the jam, etc. I do not mind spending the extra to support the locals.

The following day went over to Johnson Branch right outside of Valley View, TX. I preferred Isle Du Bois, my friend preferred Johnson. Our intention was an overnight but then it turned into two nights.

We traveled out of the park to explore the area. We went to a Western store where they sold cowboy boots, shirts, equipment for horses, etc. Pretty jazzy items but pretty pricey too. I guess if I was a shopper, I would not mind spending the money. While we stayed in the Johnson Branch we went out to eat at Serna's Mexican Restaurant in Gainesville, TX. I had a large Mango Margarita. The food was pretty decent-I went with a sampler. It was alright but I regret not going with my gut and went with a steak with a Mexican flair.

On our way back we stopped in Lindsey, TX to eat. Our intention was to have breakfast but that was not on the menu at Dieter Brother's Restaurant. It was a nice little small town eatery/bar. With a theme of Coca cola, small town football, and the 50s. Another family owned/runned place. Pretty decent food with decent prices and friendly people.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb