Traveling Fool


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Dallas
August 14th 2011
Published: August 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

And so the drama continues. I have been working and traveling so much for work that I don't know what is up from down. My most recent trip that compelled me to blog was a trip to St. Louis. One week prior to a conference being held there I found out I was to attend. The ASAE conference is for Association Executives. These are big wigs for associations who also happen to be deicsion makers for association confrerences, ie a time to shine for St. Louis. Upon arrival, there were multiple volunteers welcoming us to the city. From the tie I stepped off the plane until the time I stepped back on it I could not have felt more welcome. They treated this city as if it were their Super Bowl, and it showed.

Our opening night reception was a party under the arch. The city arranged for a private area for the conference attendees, but locals could also set up shop to listen to the free concert. Dinner was served taste of St. Louis style, with multiple vendors passing out their good eats. The highlight of the night was the music. Great jazz singers followed by the headliner Michael McDonald. And the night was closed out with fireworks over the arch. The view from standing under the arch at night was mystical.

After that we had to be a bit more focused on the conference at hand. It was over all a very successful event for me. I made a lot of good contacts, and met some people I have only talked to over the phone. One of my favorite places by the end of the week was Ruths Chris steakhouse inside of the Hyatt. It is where we started or ended most nights with a great glass of wine. The staff is friendly and remembered us every time we walked in the door. This showed in all employees of the Hyatt. I received smiles, and welcomes as I walked through the halls and restaurants. It was great to feel so at home while being away on an unexpected trip.

Back home I am excited to spend a few days with my husband before heading to Key West to see some good friends. Back to doing some laundry and getting ready for

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb