Last stop, Texas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Dallas
July 4th 2005
Published: July 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Ruth, Leslie, Me, KitRuth, Leslie, Me, KitRuth, Leslie, Me, Kit

The Tomlinson's new church!
Texas. Generally the end of the line for us all, really. ...they have taken over.... just kidding. sort of.

Had a great time with my best friend and her husband, Kit and Leslie Tomlinson. It was one of the times I felt most relaxed on the trip. Kit and Leslie have been one of the main reference points of existence at seminary the last two years. I'm very grateful for that, it would maybe have been a totally different experience without them--in fact, I might have left. They left to move to TX and help pastor a church (Les- associate, Kit- Youth Pastor) there now, very sad. It was great to see though that there really is life after seminary! They have a grown-up house, and grown-up offices and everything. Plus, the cool new cell phone that Leslie got for work makes me wonder if I missed my calling as a United Methodist Preacher.

Texas is really hot. I can't understand how people live there and breathe. San Marcos, however, has a river running through it that you can tube on or just doggy paddle in the current. That was nice. There was a July 4th celebration there. I ate almost nothing but Mexican food and TX barbecue the whole time I was there, it was great.

Then after San Marcos and the Tomlinsons I dropped Ruth in Austin and went to Dallas for the night to meet her the next day. There I stayed with old friends, Scott and Krista Thompson. I wish I got a picture of their beautiful family. I've known Scott since I was 14 and we wrote some music and made a CD in Nashville once. Even in DC Talk's studio. never did anything after that with music--for now at least! But Scott is still way into music. He downloaded 7200 songs on his computer, and I think he may have played every one of them for me! But he made 3 CD's for the drive, so that was cool. Scott and Krista had 4 kids in three years, a year after marriage (one set of twins). They are have a handful, but they are great kids with personalities like their parents--which is a great thing! Scott and Dave Austin are best friends and both have been like brothers, it was cool to see both of them during the same trip.

So, Ruth and I met up at 4 and had to be back in Kentucky by 4 the next day so I could get to work. Graceland was nixed. I'll save it for the next road trip. We saw plenty of Elvis in Vegas anyway. Now I am at work, had to be here at 7:30 on Saturday morn, and all night last night. I feel like I can sleep for a week after driving for a month. IT WAS SO WORTH IT THOUGH! Driving back into town I felt that I could definately start right then, and do the whole thing all over again.

This trip was such a gift. Great time to reflect, plan, see the country, grow closer to God, and see lots of great family and friends. Life is pretty good, I feel lucky.

I will continue to post the adventures of the summer, I think there will probably be 3-4 more visits different places. In nine days, Italy!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb