Getting Ready for Ike


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Beaumont
September 7th 2008
Published: September 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Just so You'd Know

This is too active a hurricane season for my liking in southeast Texas.

I'm tired of running already, but will.

I have divorced for less aggravation.

I returned home Wednesday, just three days ago, from my evacuation from Hurricane Gustav. Don't get me wrong - I am glad to have gone away.

My area, my property, was hit by Hurricane Rita in 2005 and when allowed to returned, almost four weeks later, I was almost sorry I had. Not for myself as much but for the area.

But all were resilient, picked themselves up and did whatever had to be done to set things right.

Made me proud of southeast Texas.

Gustav didn't hit us.

This new one looks much more menacing.

I haven't unpacked since I went straight to work upon returning, but will add cooler weather clothes to the mix to take with me.

So much for packing light.

When you think about it, what do you have that you'd not care if you never have again? (This may be a female only question)

If insurance takes a while to kick in, can you buy clothes for all the family to accommodate the weather?

Did you really care about those 900 years of photos that you've inherited? Those you took when growing up of you friends?
Your marriage? Your kids? Your cars? (okay, guys can answer that one) Your grandbabies?

Do you care if you never see or get to use that gravy boat of your great,great grandmother's? Or is it grand, great grandmother?

Do I want my dress up clothes or only work clothes or only play clothes?

Do I really have all my important papers in one place in order to grab and run?

If your house is not still there when you're allowed to return, what are the plans?

Will your job still be there?

Yeah, I hate this time of year and especially this season we're having.

I'm going to regroup, repack and really think about it this week as I watch Hurricane Ike inch his way into the Gulf of Mexico.

He may be deterred by different climate changes that the US is expecting..

He may just go away by himself.

He has already done damage and will do more before he gets to the Gulf and my heart goes out to those people.

I'll end this conversation now and pick it up when I start repacking.


Advertisement



7th September 2008

What's important?
The best "things" in life - really aren't "things" at all. I too am tired of running - I will not do it again. I make a stand here and now. Some storm my very well take my house and my life if that's what's going to happen so be it, but I refuse to part of the scampering mice fleeing from the rising waters again. Best wishes to all,
7th September 2008

Riding it out
At the age of 61, with 28 major hurricanes under my belt, I've long since quit running. After seeing what folks went through on the highways last week, there's no WAY that is LESS dangerous than facing down a hurricane of ANY size! Got my hands on 2 generators, so will stick it out this time too. Hang in there Kiddo - will e-mail and keep you posted.
7th September 2008

You should be a writer.
8th September 2008

Writer? Me?
Thanks, girl and I miss you bunches. Glad you're happy where you are, but hey! You left me!
8th September 2008

Riding it out
Best wishes, girl. Hopefully this one will spare Louisianna altogther. I have to leave here because of safety issues. But will watch everything until the last minute. Let's keep each other closely informed.
8th September 2008

What's important?
Your life is important! To me and all your friends and family. It may not come close to your area, but if it does, you've got my cell number. Meet me at my safe haven, friend.
8th September 2008

had to laugh
looked back over your original post and saw "I have divorced for less aggravation." Hilarious - So Have I !!! LOL

Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0786s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb