Evacuating My Little Casa Again


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Beaumont
August 30th 2008
Published: August 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hurricane Season Should Be Shorter!

We now have Hurricane Gustav eyeballing the Gulf of Mexico in a serious fashion.

This time I will go farther than Beaumont. I'm going to the Dallas area again.

Nancy, her parents, Gabriel, Sofia and John are going with me. We'll have all their pets along too. I had booked our rooms last Monday or Tuesday before the rush and am very glad I did. I just love the place we will stay.

This will be my second 'vacation' there and Nancy and family have stayed there many more times.

I may take more bathing suits than street clothes this time!

I just don't want to have my birthday there again, so hopefully we'll be away from our homes only a little while.

Son Grant will be glad I'm taking everything out of my packed freezer to him and, of course, I'll go to his (my) apartment and cook every day.

Weather people predict that once Gustav makes it into the Gulf of Mexico, either tomorrow night or Sunday, that it will strike along the coast of Louisiana probably on Monday or Tuesday. Louisiana is not that far from me, folks. And conditions could change and shift it to the west (that's me!). So off I go!

This time I'm taking my laptop!!

Our local news radio station, www.KLVI.com (who I love) will be constantly broadcasting on conditions of our area. They can stream the programs through the computer in America and certain countries but not in Mexico. I was lost without them last year.

My gas tank is full, I have a plan coordinated with everyone going with me and my son, I just need to pack a few things. Oh yeah, I have some deck plants to move to shelter. All this I will accomplish this evening.

The states of Texas and Louisiana already have things in place that need to be this far prior to landfall. I'm proud of them.

To look at the storm(s) - yes, there's more than one out there - the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Nation Weather Service has sites of:

http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/

and

http://www.goes.noaa.gov/HURRLOOPS/huvsloop.html (This one gets you up close and personal)

I will be blogging from the Dallas area if God willing and the creek don't rise and yes, I will address the Golden Triangle area's news as well as our vacation from the coast.

Everyone within the storm's reach, please be careful and safe. Take all precautions for your circumstances.

All else please keep praying and or thinking good things for us.

I will speak with you soon.



Advertisement



30th August 2008

Wow...
Stay safe, Patt...let us know how you fare...

Tot: 0.35s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb