Blogging on a hurricane again


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Beaumont
August 4th 2008
Published: August 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Actually, it's not a hurricane. It's a mid-level tropical storm. It sprang up rather
quickly and right on our coasts!

That surprised and worries all of us here on the coast of Texas and Louisiana.

Last summer, our (my) area was surprised with Humberto that did not do what
the forecasters expected when everyone here went to bed and sleep. Well,
Humberto had his own agenda, changed route straight for our area and slammed
into us.

I had gone to bed as well, only my little bed at the time was in the Yucatan.
I had just gone through Huracan Dean (Spanish spelling) who thankfully missed
the upper Yucatan but scared the devil out of me.

Now I'm in my little casa in southeast Texas. I don't like storms.

Currently the storm is hugging the Louisiana Coast, moving due west for Texas
at a very slow storm speed. Big bad move - slow means potential to beef up
to a biggie.

A National Weather Bureau Hurricane Center representative was just on our local
news / talk station, www.klvi.com, (which does stream live on the internet). This
gentleman said he had been worried all day about the probability of tornados in
the outer bands of the storm.

You think HE'S worried?! You ought to see the populace here!!

I, along with friends and family, evacuated for Hurricane Rita in 2005. Very glad
we did. It was bad. Four weeks before we were allowed back in my hometown
due to lack of necessary services.

All precautions were taken at work in Sabine Pass. Some of us left early afternoon
to take care of business at our homes after taking care of our business needs.

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, NOAA,
(http://www.goes.noaa.gov/HURRLOOPS/huvsloop.html) shows real time satellite
so that you can watch it too. Everyone here is probably glued to all types of
storm watch media at this time.

I'll go finish my home business now and update you tomorrow. (Given, of course,
the saying "God willing and the creek don't rise".) I'm going to Nancy's later this
evening after work traffic. I will have the cell, my truck is full of gasoline , I'll secure
the things on the property (the property that I need to sell!) and I'll take everything
out of the freezer. If the winds pick up or the tornados come, we'll lose electricity.

Everyone here: Take care and I love you. All my friends away from this area: think
of us with well wishes please.


Advertisement



5th August 2008

Bulls eye
Looks like you're ground zero again. Hope you're all safe and sound, high and dry.

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1006.6kb