Do You Remember the Belly Rubbing Dance Songs and Locations Where We Danced ?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Beaumont
January 13th 2008
Published: January 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Do you remember where we use to go to dance that slow and that close? Do you remember the songs?

For this read, you'll have to realize that I live in southeast Texas. I'm in the Golden Triangle area of Beaumont, Port Arthur and Orange to be exact.

The good ol' songs come back as snippets of song on commercials and I'll get one in my head when I hear that soundbite and hum it for days.

Several years ago, my son was amazed that I knew the words to a 'new' song. I tried to explain that the song was just a remake of a song released previously. He'd have none of it at the time. Silly boy.

They just don't often write good songs anymore. That's my opinion and I'm sticking to it.

Last weekend during the NFL Playoffs, a commercial had what I term a 'blip' of "Unchain My Heart". I loved that song and still do. I'm sure that I fell in love for the duration of that song being played numerous times while dancing.

I have that same reaction to a lot of the 'blips' and the songs on the oldies stations on the radio.

All my song and dance memories are great ones.

It makes me long for the dance halls (or whatever name you choose) of that time period.

It's hard for me to get into dancing around most of the establishments in my area . More often the music is not those good old tunes. Then, of course, there's the fact that the willing dance partners present are not really from my generation and / or have absolutely no clue how to dance to these songs. Flailing your arms and head and stomping your feet is not what I consider dancing in southeast Texas. To me it indicates that your Mama didn't teach you either social graces or dance skills. I prefer to think that rather than rashes or other social diseases.

For those of this area, do you remember the Rodair Club, Sparkle Paradise, Silver Spur, Yvonne's, the Holiday Club, the Ridgewood, The Palace? Then there were the ones that we went to 'cross the river.

There are still some fine places to dance in my area - that I consider fine, that is.

Check out the schedules at the following facilities (and most have great food!):

MacKenzie's Pub in Beaumont: http://www.mackenziespub.com/

Pine Tree Lodge in LaBelle: http://www.pinetreelodgerestaurant.com/

Club 87 in Orange / Little Cypress found listed in: http://www.orangeleader.com/

Larry's French Market in Groves: http://www.larrysfrenchmarket.com/

Boudain Hut: http://www.boudainlink.com/

To get you reminiscing, think back to these:

Cherry Pie

Red, Red Rose

Crazy

Unchained Melody

Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me

Statue of a Fool

Unforgettable

I Can't Help Falling in Love

Only You

When a Man Loves a Woman

Love Me Tender

Have I got you humming yet?

Now come with me to flail your arms, stomp your feet, act silly and enjoy a good ol' southeast Texas Mardi Gras celebration or to one of my recommended entertainment locations !

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb