Texas Hill Country Trip - Day 7


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Bastrop
November 22nd 2014
Published: November 22nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

WimberleyWimberleyWimberley

They had these huge boots all over town.
November 14, 2014 (Friday) – Day 7







Today we drove up to Wimberley. I had heard of the town but never been there. I loved the downtown area. They had a lot of older buildings and shops. I would like to go back there sometime and spend more time there.



We didn’t spend much time in Wimberley because mama wanted to go to the town of Buda. She had known some people who use to live there. There was not much there but mama wanted to spend some time there. We went into a little store, then the doughnut shop. We were killing time until some of the antique stores opened at 11. About the time they opened mama changed her mind and did not want to go in them. So we headed to Bastrop. I wanted to go to Bastrop State Park. I wanted to see the park but I also wanted to see where they had the bad fire September 2011. The fire destroyed 96 % of the park. The park is so pretty now. I was surprised at all the yellow flowers that were in the park. We
WimberleyWimberleyWimberley

One of the boots in town.
also drove thru downtown Bastrop.



We left the park and headed to Lockhart. I wanted to go to Black’s Bar B Q to eat lunch and also pick up some of their sausage rings to take home. I picked up some for me and my brother then we went to Luling and picked up some there also. I didn’t get any for my sister because she does not care for them and did not want them. (I had to put this in the blog otherwise I would never hear the end of it from her telling everyone I didn’t bring her any even though she told me not too !!!).



We drove thru Gruene on the way back to the condo. The town of Gruene sure has changed since the last time I was there about 30 or 40 years ago. Back then it was just a dance hall and a couple of stores. They have really built it into a tourist trap now.

Hard to believe the trip is almost over, time to start heading toward home tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

WimberleyWimberley
Wimberley

Another one of the boots in town.
Bastrop State ParkBastrop State Park
Bastrop State Park

Buck in the park
Bastrop State ParkBastrop State Park
Bastrop State Park

Buck in the park
Outside of LockhartOutside of Lockhart
Outside of Lockhart

Daddy and his cousin use to own this land. We would all go there on some weekends and stay in a trailer that was on the property at the time. We watched them drill for oil on this land. They did it oil and the wells produced for a while then the price an oil dropped and they closed them down. This was about 30 years ago.
Outside of LockhartOutside of Lockhart
Outside of Lockhart

This use to be an old church that was across from the property Daddy owned. They have turned it into a house now.


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb