USAFL - Aussie Rules football in the USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Austin
October 22nd 2015
Published: October 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

It only seems like yesterday I was played my first game for the mighty Christies Beach Primary School Tigers Under 10's. You no the kid that stands out on the ground and stares at his boot laces and reacts to the ball when it has already past him? Yep, that was me! Well, to start with anyway. I still remember taking a mark in the back pocket and had the choice: handball to two free Christies boys or kick the ball to the best player surrounded by 10 players wearing the red and blue Pimpala guernsey. Yep, you guessed it! I kicked it and it went to one of the Pimpala boys who then kicked a goal. Funny thing was, I didn't care! I had got a kick and back then, just getting a touch made my day. I even remember the day my best mate at primary school at the time, who didn't even play footy tried to correct my double handed drop of the ball, which I eventually corrected as my football career went on.



Well, thankfully, my footy improved and I ended up playing reserves footy at SANFL level for the mighty Panthers, and played a 177 games in the Great Southern Football League where I won a premiership for Strathalbyn in 2000 and also played 20 games in the Southern Football league. I have played games were I have kicked 4 or 5 goals off the wing, kicked 5 points in a Preliminary and Grand Final off a wing but also played games where if I dragged myself and left the team with 17 then we probably would have played better. I've sat on the bench for all but 5 minutes of a game, taken 2 spectacular marks on Adelaide Oval, one where I got so excited I run 50 metres the other way and gave the handball back to the guy that kicked it and one went I was sitting on the sidelines, and I took a diving mark when it went out on the full and the crowd cheered as it was the best thing anyone from our team had done that night as we were 24 goals down at the time! Why am I telling you all this, because on Sunday, October 19th at 9am I played my last game of Aussie Rules football. I have been playing for 30 years and enjoyed playing school footy at Immanuel College with two of my best mates Brett Hage, Ben Jackson and even JT who gave up after Bretty's dad labelled him with a famous comment from the side 'You are to slow number 16'! I got to play in the first Div 1 Knock Out Schools Cup for the First XVIII with Brad Ottens, played 2 years of football with Tony Modra at Encounter Bay and had 2 seasons where I kicked 20 goals as an attacking half back flanker. I a love a goal, and loved playing with my mates at school, but the Sunday goal kicking comps with dad at Christies Beach Primary School Oval will always be one of my favourite moments. Ironically enough, my greatest accolade in football, is walking off Jervious Oval after my first game for Strathalbyn in a trial game. I may never have played better but seeing dad's smile and nod as I walked off the ground is the greatest moment in my football career.



So many stories I could reflect, laugh, and also be ashamed about, and although I have tried to retire for the last 3 years, it seems I was destined to do it in America, at the USAFL nationals in Austin, Texas. I had procrastinated about getting on the internet and purchasing my return flights for a good 3 weeks, as I just didn't know whether it was going to be a good experience and a waste of money. I had opened the computer, looked at flights, then switched the computer off about 10 times before making my decision. I wouldn't have any time to see the sights of Austin and could I justify paying the money just for a 3 day get away to play a game I had play for 30 years! In the end, I thought it would be a great way to retire and so I went back on the computer and booked my flights.



The day to leave had come pretty quickly, and the preparation I had wanted for it was no how I planned it to be! I had not done any exercise for a week, could not attend the final meeting to find out the last minute details of the trip as I coached Volleyball until 9:30pm 2 nights before, umpired Volleyball on the Thursday night then packed, taught a full day at school and even before I jumped into the car, the body was feeling weary, the two carry on bags felt heavier than they should have and I only had some information really of what was going on for the whole week end. It seems that the Calgary airport and I have had some interesting times getting there or leaving and again, I found myself in another sticky situation. I was making good time up the Deerfoot Highway (Highway 2 that left Calgary and headed to Edmonton) until I got to McKnight exit! It seems that whenever there is an accident on this highway, this exit happens to be your first guess. I looked up ahead at the outstretched traffic and saw the speedometer drop from the designated 100km/h I was allowed to go to the crawling, and tedious speed of 20km/h. My planned arrival time was now overdue and it looked like I was going to be stuck in this for an hour so I took a different route. The GPS had directed me another way which would get me there only a few minutes later than planned so I relaxed again and drove towards the airport . . .to a dead end road!!! Well, those who know me well would guess that a little bit of aggression and stress was creeping in. Not only did I have to go all the way back to where I came from, if traffic on Deerfoot didn't clear up I was going to miss my final footy experience. I got to the airport at 3pm half an hour later than planned and only 1 and a half hours before the scheduled departure time. I parked in the economy car park, carted my two carry on bags over my shoulder and did a Cliffy Young shuffle towards the departures section of the airport.



I thought, I had truly missed my chance to check in for my international flight. I had to quickly fill in the US boarder security forms and then raced as best I could to check in. As I got there I nearly fell over with shock, as the 5 boys from the footy squad were calmly waiting without a care in the world to go and check in. Great! Unnecessary stress! I was through security within 10 minutes and my only scare was that the security made a ridiculous fuss over an unused 87ml tube of toothpaste! I had arrived into Austin at 11:20pm with little more than an average overpriced Philly steak sandwich in Denver airport (so much for pasta as a pregame meal) and arrived at the hotel at 12am once rented cars and pick ups were all sorted. My preparation for this tournament was not what I had in mind!



The next day, after a barely satisfying couple of bowls of rice bubbles a couple of pieces of toast and some juice I arrived with my car group to a large complex of soccer grounds were 5 AFL grounds, some with some very interesting line work and with sections that had weeds, jacks and rough, dry grass in the pockets, had been temporarily set up for this exciting week end. I felt like a school kid playing in the lightning carnivals way back when I first started playing footy, or just before you played mini league for the Panthers. I couldn't wait to get in amongst the atmosphere that was circling this otherwise dull looking playing fields. Teams from New York, Sacramento, Denver, Dallas, LA, Kansas City, Orange County, Golden Gate, Quebec, Baltimore, and of course Austin were warming up, assisting with boundary umpiring, watching or playing games in one of the four divisions for men or 2 divisions for woman. There was a Coopers Beer tent selling pale ale for $5US, a pie cart selling spicy chicken or beef pies for $7US a pie and a series of tents positioned around the different ovals for storing gear and providing shade for the quickly warming weather from the sun that shone brightly in the cloudless blue sky. I had to register my arrival before selecting a guernsey for the event. I scouted around for a number (although they say it isn't important) and there was only one number I hoped was available. And there it was! The number I started with with Christies Beach Primary School; the number I wore in year 8-10 at Immanuel, the one Peter 'Super' Carey and Gary Ablett Snr (my favourite players when I was a kid) had worn in their careers - number 5. I am not sure I have moved quicker in years just to ensure I got that jumper. I thought what a fitting end to wear the number I have not been able to wear ever since I was 15, but the number I always liked to wear.



It was only an hour before the first game before instant ciaos had impacted on my decision to grab that jumper. Players from last year were allowed to wear there own guernsey's and I had grabbed a kit jumper. One of the stalwarts of the Calgary group wore number 5 all the time. I was quickly told about my error and felt really bad as I forgotten that he wore 5 and without any fuss changed to 55 instead. So I had changed my jumper and was about to warm up when I was told that I had to wear 5 as they had already put me down on the team sheet as that number. Poor old Andy had to wear 53 and I had to ravage the kit to try and find number 5 again. I went for a quick pre warm up run with Liam, my mate and fellow exchange teacher from Adelaide and suddenly I saw a figure I instantly recognised. I was staring at him like a jaw dropped bloke at a strip club but also confused and in disbelief all at the same time. I said hi to him and he politely replied back before I said "I have to ask but are you Tim May?" Tim May was an Australian Test player who bowled off spin in tandem with Shane Warne in the early 90's. Sure enough, not only a few moments after I had said those words was I shaking hands with the form test off spinner who had come to watch his son Ben May play for the Div 1 favourites, the Austin Crows. I wished him all the best then it was time to get ready for our first game.



Ironically, I am reading 'Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire' and, like Harry, 'Dragons, dragons are the first task'. We were scheduled to play the LA Dragons at 12pm on the main arena. The wind was beginning to howl like a wining dog and the oval was hard but in good condition, apart from the sloping drain run off slops on the edge of each end of the centre square. The commentators, that seemed to have bought or goggled '101 bad one liner comments use can use in a football commentary' gave a quick preview of the game as we stood, arms around each other in a straight line, staring back at our opposition only 10 metres away as if preparing for the national anthem. The umpires then came over and checked our nails and the cleets (or moulded soles of our boots) to ensure they were not dangerous. I've seen netball games and they can be full on contact, although against the rules of that particular game, but I have never had to do this before a footy game. We lost the toss before running out into our positions and prepared for the horn blower to roar over the murmuring excitement of a small crowd for our first Nationals game. Games were played over two, twenty minute halves, a little different to the four, twenty minute plus time on quarters back home.



We had probably been the better side, but found ourselves down at quarter time, but what I couldn't believe was how well I was playing. I was running off half back dangerously and getting plenty of the ball, and I felt awesome! The second quarter (which can be seen at
if you are interested) we came back with aid of the breeze and got 2 goals early to be within a goal of the LA Dragons. Now, I had managed to run on to a ball in the fifty and had a chance to tie the game but my first shot on goal was a point. Only minutes later, the attacking goal kicking half back I had become late in my career had a chance to redeem himself and I kicked the goal to give us the lead with only a few minutes remaining. There was an interesting touched on the line call for the LA dragons which was clearly in the field of play that was given a point that gave us a 1 point lead but we managed to hold on, kicking a goal on the siren to win by 7 points. I don't like blowing my on trumpet, I hate getting praise as I struggle to work out how to handle it, but I had played a very good game. Probably the oldest player by 2 years at least out on the field (not quite the Div 1 comp but pretty close) and I had run rings around the opposition.



After watching the girls team and the second Calgary mens team play and win quite convincingly, we prepared for the toughest challenge of all - the Austin Crows. They boasted a few ex SANFL players and had 5 Americans in the American National team and played to a standard that would make them competitive at A grade level in local leagues back home. I was walking to half back when the coach and ex-team mate from Encounter Bay Dane Rolfe pointed to number 22 and told me to tag him out the game (a role a did quite well in 2000 when I played at South and won a premiership with Strathalbyn). Number 22 had dominated the first game. He had stood out as one of their top players and while I felt honoured to be given the role, I was suddenly feeling butterflies swimming around in my stomach. My tagging role did not start well. After mistaking a whistle from another ground, he instantly got a touch and quickly got another, both dangerous and effective and suddenly I found that my game was going to have to change from the first. Then suddenly, I turned back the clock back to football that I played when I won the U19 best and fairest at South Adelaide back in 1998. I was out marking him with ease, pushing him off with strength I had forgotten I had and running off him and becoming dangerous, and suddenly, I became part of a play where I ran around a player and kicked a long 60 metre goal on the run, to level the scores. I yelled with glee, pumped my fist into the air like a boxer giving a quick jab to his opponent and ran past number 22 (my opponent) and quickly reminded him about a few things before continuing to play a great game. The second quarter, when Austin started to destroy us, I still racked up possessions and the two kicks my opponent got his felt perceived pressure and were ineffective. Even the commentators knew my name now and although it was rare to hear them when playing, I remember one time where they debated for a minute how to pronounce my name. They actually pronounced it the way most people know me as and the correct Italian pronunciation (which had lead to me being given the nickname 'Pinchy' at Myponga where I coached and played for a bit). I was playing football I hadn't played for years and the disappointment of Austin had beaten us 7.5 to 2.3 after being 3 goals to 1 at quarter time was conflicted my spirits as I walked off the field.



This day had also been topped off by two other chance meetings. Firstly, I had volunteered to get some ice for a player in the second team when who should I walk past, Jobe Watson! I just so happened (conveniently) to have my camera with me and grabbed a photo with the Essendon Brownlow Medalist and chatted to him briefly about how he was over to watch a mate playing in a team from Portland and about their preseason altitude training session that was coming up in a few weeks. Really awesome bloke and was happy to talk and take photos with anyone who asked. Secondly, this one had me a little excited! I had heard that Dan Jackson, the recently retired number 23 for the mighty Richmond Tigers and Ben Griffiths, current number 24 for the mighty tigs were in the area. And, sure enough, I happened to walk past them and without hesitation shook both their hands like an excited school kid meeting his idols, and chatted to them about why they were there and how Griffo's injuries were going. Dan Jackson now lives in Toronto and overseeing the coaches of the Calgary women's team. Again, both were great ambassadors for the AFL and the Tigs and this day I was having couldn't get any better. Unfortunately I didn't have my camera so I missed a photo opportunity with the boys from Tigerland but the memory is still engraved in my mind.



To top off the night, we headed to an Italian Restaurant about 7 minutes from our hotel. It turned out to be 35 minutes as the car group we went with got lost and by the time we had arrived the others had already had their first course. The restaurant was like you would expect, Italian, red and white checked table clothes, arch openings with large bottles of port, olive oil or wine on the ledge. The room was full of all kinds of pictures which were as unrelated to Italy as you could get, but still there was an authentic feel to it. The roof of the room we were in even had pictures on the roof, maybe trying to mimic famous Italian churches and spiritual places. To enter the room, we had to walk through the kitchen where there was a booth were customers could sit and overlook proceedings in the kitchen. It was a different set up but a great place for the team to unwind and talk about the days events. The good old Italian salad, lettuce and vinegar as well as a caesar salad made up of crusty bread, lettuce and parmesan cheese, was followed authentic linguine in a beautiful, rich, tasty tomato sauce. To top it off, schnitzels with grilled cheese and more of the authentic sauce were served up as well and when I bit into the tasty slice of veal, I enjoyed the secret ingredient in the crumbs that made grandma's schnitzels some of the best I have ever eaten.



Our next game was Sunday morning at 9am and unless LA Dragons, who were no longer in the hunt beat Austin Crows by 10 goals, our finals chances were done. We still were playing for a possible 3rd place finish so the game still had some importance. There was also the risk of being dropped back to Div 2 as well which would have insulted the quality of Canadian and Australian players in the side. My body was sore and struggled early on in the warm up to run over the dew covered ground that evaporated a cooling dampness into the air. I can't remember the last time I kicked the due off the ground but the knowledge that this would be my last game was far from my mind. I danced to the instrumental and rock music that played over the loud speaker while kicking the ball and just enjoyed the moment for what it was - a good bit of fun.



Everyone has heard the expression 'play as if its your last game'! Well I did! And, well I played amazing. It didn't take long for the old 36 year old half back flanker to kick the first goal of the quarter and his 3rd out of the tournament. It was a snap under pressure and suddenly the Calgary boys were up and about. Although I was playing well, getting plenty of possessions and looking dangerous, my body was taking a beating. I took a mark where my legs were taken from underneath me and I crashed onto the hard ground with a thud. Moments later the same thing occurred when going for a spoil. I had also found myself getting a bit sucked into the play and along with our team mates, saw the ball go over our heads to two lazy forward players who helped put Golden Gate 2 goals up at the half. Calgary needed a forward option, as all tournament we had turned the ball over at Centre Half Forward. Someone had to stand up and take the game by the neck if we were to get our second win of the tournament. No forward did! One player missed a goal from 10 metres out and that was the only forward shot on goal until right at the end of the quarter. I was flying for pack marks and nearly taking them, things I hadn't done for years and running off better than ever before and suddenly I found myself taking a mark 40 metres out from goal and slotting through mine and the teams second goal. Moments later, I saw my chance to push forward again. I ran towards the ball like a puppy full of energy. Bang! Smash! An opposition player ran through me like a freight train much to the excitement of the over descriptive commentators who were getting right into the game. I bounced back up as quick as a flash. I'm not sure if it was adrenaline or the fact the goals were near by and I love kicking a goal. I sprinted towards the ball again, dived desperately on it and was then felt a heavy weight crash into my back. To the applause of the crowd, I was awarded a free kick and I could barely overhear the commentators raving about the courageous effort and desperation I had shown as the focus on the job at hand was clouding me from anything around me. As I walked back 30 metres out from goal on a 30 degree angle, my body felt exhausted, crushed, battered and I didn't think I even had the energy to kick it. I lined up the goal and barely made the distance! Wait! It bounced over the pack, it wasn't touched! It's .... a .... goal! Calgary are only 2 points down with minutes barely on the clock.



Again, the opportunity came to run forwards as we won a free kick in defense and we switched the play. Rolfey saw me running into the clear, at CHF and quickly kicked it in my direction. Unlike most of the bounces all players had experienced throughout the tournament. I got a great one! I was running into the fifty, the forty! This was my bread and butter! Princi on the run from the arch! I confidently shaped to kick what could be the match winning goal. Suddenly out the corner of my eye, I saw a Golden Gate player run at me! It left a Canadian player free. All I had to do was handball it over the top and he would run into the open goal. My decision probably cost the game truth be told! I handballed it over the top. I did the team thing and watched with anticipation as the Canadian player, who was 20 metres clear of anyone one-grabbed the ball and run into the open goal in a 30 degree angle. I don't know why, but felt as though he would miss. From 5 metres out he shanked the ball to the right. It was a point! Thirty seconds later we made another forward thrust into attack but the dreaded sound of the horn blower suddenly shattered our spirits as we lost the game by a point.



It was a strange and euphoric feeling that followed for me as I shook the hands of the opposition players. It hadn't really sunk in that this was my final game. My last kick in a game of football was a goal. I had kicked 3 goals from half back, the only 3 goals for our team. I had kicked 5 of the teams 9 goals for the tournament from my running attacking game from defence. I had played some of the best football of my life against some good opposition, not the toughest I have played but good none the less. There was even a whisper that I was a chance to be the MVP for the tournament in Div 1! I had never caught the eyes of umpires for votes, but I had played well! There was one other that had also caught the eye of all the players and commentators - John Snow! A long haired, skinny onballer, who wore 98 for Orange County had starred and if he came back to Aus and lived in SA would be trying very hard to get him to Christies A grade that is for sure! Keith Voges from Calgary, a great mate and awesome footballer who played for Calgary had also played well for us so there was some chance that we may take home something from the event.



We went and cheered on the Calgary Kookaburras, the female team that Calgary had brought. They were amazing! Their skills, evasive maneuvers, and ability to run with and use the ball was just brilliant. The forwards took strong marks; they hit the ball and the player harder than I had seen in many men's games i've played in back home. They won by a country mile every game they played and they were a joy to watch! I also watched the second team, battle some of the weirdest umpiring decisions i've seen, including calling the ball forward from one end to the other just to ball it up, and being 2 goals down with only a few minutes to go to win by a point! It was a great game to watch from the Coopers Beer tent were the Div 1 boys relaxed and enjoyed the weather. After a quick dip in the pool back at the hotel, and a few drinks, we went back to the ground to watch the Austin Crows comfortably win the Div 1 final 4.5 to 2.2 against Orange County. It was a fitting end to an amazing tournament and a great game admired by 2000 who filled the tents along the wings. It was great to see the national game being so well promoted in the US but you did get the feel that they were keen to ensure that the Canadian teams didn't spoil the party, particularly in some ways the games we played were umpired!



The presentations were celebrated shortly afterwards where we cheered the Kookaburras for winning the Div 2 cup and waited for the announcements of the Div 1 awards. In a strange twist of events, they actually forgot to mention the Div 1 MVP for the men's and the women's competition. They had said they were still counting up the votes and may not be able to give the award out. Moments later, the Calgary group were celebrating again. We had the winner of the Most Valuable Player award for the Division 1 - Keith Voges! A high five and a few beers to celebrate Vog's win on the way home in the Calgary Bus that four of the boys (Vog's being one of them) traveled up to Austin in, and we were back at the hotel, having some form of pool party and preparing to head out on the rumoured awesome Austin nightlife. This stayed a rumour for me, as the lack of food over the last few days, particularly the Sunday, the hot sun, dehydration and four drinks I had, impacted me deeply and after having two large meals at Bikini's across the road from the hotel, and impressing people with my rather large appetite, I was in bed by 9:30pm.



I did however get into the festivities for a short time at Mad Monday were the boys dressed up in very creative costumes under the theme 'Sports Stars from the 80's!' I came as a tennis player and by chance getting a black mustache, officially became John Newcombe, but soon changed to represent the silver fox, one of my best mate's (Dillon's) dad, the once ranked 9th in the world squash player Ian Stephensen, when I borrowed an old wooden squash racket and posed as him in the middle of the pub. Unfortunately I had to leave at 3 as I needed to be back home on Tuesday to work (as I can only have one personal day before I would be charged a day without pay) so I missed the rest of the 'interesting' festivities that continued on once I left, but the week end was really awesome. And there was one final twist left to play out once I reached the airport. As I was about to board the plane to my Toronto where I would get a connecting flight to Calgary, who should be lining up to get on the plane - Dan Jackson and Ben Griffith's! They recognised me straight away and after a small chat about the week end I quickly whipped out my phone and took a slightly blurred selfie with the two mighty Richmond Tigers players.



As I reflected about the week end, read a few chapters of the fourth installment of the Harry Potter books, I now look forward to a project that I have been working on since I arrived in Calgary. It had cost me $6000 but this is something I have always wanted to do and something I love to do! I have written a book and through a self publishing company I will soon by launching 'The Treeman's Curse - The Book of Clues'. I'm sure I will tell you more soon!!! I loved writing stories as a kid, and have written a number of script ideas in my mid 20's that are still gathering megabyte dust and taking up space on my computer, but finally I was able to take an idea and go further with it. Unlike my blogs, I have read, edited and planned the story over and over again, and had my sister do an amazing job to edit and make suggestions to make it into a product I am really happy for and have even been planning to write the sequel and prequels of the story. It is now getting close to the publishing stage and I am getting very excited about having it released hopefully later in the year. Inspired by the Harry Potter books I am beginning to read, I am now looking towards a new hobby and a new journey in my life.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 29


Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0752s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb