Pullman Train Journey - New Orleans to Chicago - Anticipation: Part 1 of 3


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Austin
October 31st 2012
Published: November 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Railroad Lore

Every parent can attest that boys have an innate fascination with trains and railroads. At least we certainly did in my generation. I still vividly remember my first train trip. It was 1952 and I was 7 years old. My mother and I rode a steam locomotive pulled train from the border city of Mexicali to Mexico City. At seven I did not feel discomfort, although looking back I cannot imagine sitting in those rather hard seats in non-air-conditioned discomfort for two days. It was a great adventure. I loved every moment, the smells, the noises, the colors and the people.

Tomorrow, I look forward to experiencing a travel back in time. To a time when the railroad was the primary mode of transportation in this Nation, “And the sons of Pullman porters & the sons of engineers ride their fathers' magic carpets made of steel.”

We’ll board the Pullman Rail Journeys’ inaugural in New Orleans and travel overnight to the City of Chicago.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb