Alive and Well in Texas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Austin
February 4th 2005
Published: February 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

After 3 days of travel on the interstates, with heavy truck traffic, Jim and I arrived in Texas. My first impression of Texas is it is BIG and with lots of WIDE OPEN SPACES. So far it is also flat with big billboards everywhere. It is also booming. Austin is fast growing and up-to-date.

In the pitch dark, we hunted for "Joy's Country Cabin". I can't imagine a better place than this lovingly restored pioneer cabin for exporing Austin, San Antonio and the Texas Hill Country. It is Texas Rustic, but with all modern conveniences. The hill country is between the two cities. Our cabin is near Sequin a small town near Rt.10 northeast of San Antonio.

The weather is in the 50's, and it is sunshining right now. In Texas this can vary, especially when the rain storms come through. But there is no snow here. It doesn't get that cold and sometimes goes to the 70's. We took our first bike ride today on the "free market" roads near the cabin. Exhilarating!

Pictures to follow soon.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



4th February 2005

Happy arrivals!
Sounds like you've had an adventure already - three days on interstates! I've heard that Austin is a very cool town; I'll be curious to see what you think of it. I heard that a certain part of San Antonio that has canals has been restored to 'resemble' Amsterdam. I'll look forward to your updates! Love, Katherine - Katherine
5th February 2005

How Wonderful
I am looking forward to a complete recount of your experiences AND may I add, I am totally envious. Enjoy your adventures. Susan - Susan D
5th February 2005

Bon Voyage...a little late
Me 'n Gayle are doin' fine here in West Palm Beach. Sounds like y'all are having a fine trip. Wish I was there. Great Pics. Blogs are alot of fun. This is my first. Raymond is doing well. I talked to him today. Keep us posted and enjoy the adventure. - Mark Heike
5th February 2005

Good start to your adventure
Finally made up my mind to go to Florida mid-Feb. I hope to spend some time with Billie who will be there until early March. I'll be back the first week in April long before you two. - Marilyn Ham
5th February 2005

Your Abode
I can tell you are in the south. The roof extends out well beyone the exterior walls in order to protect them from the scorching sun. Stay cool! - Bruce Sundquist
8th February 2005

Happy Trails
Hi Guys, looks like a nice location and good cycling. Watch out for those cactuses, or is it cactii, (Yes, the mind is the first thing to go!). Have Fun, Dan, Ginny and Emma, The NH Kerns - Dan
17th March 2005

The Hill Country
Sounds like you had a Great time. The Hill Country (the area West of I-35, between the coastal Plains and Edwards Plateau), is my favorite place in the World. Come back whenever you can. - Bob Cozby

Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb