Ballpark #29 Review: Rangers Ballpark in Arlington (Texas Rangers), June 16, 2013


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Arlington
March 20th 2016
Published: March 20th 2016
Edit Blog Post

The second ballpark in my ~56 hour Texas trip (thank you ridiculously cheap airfare!).

Ballpark: Rangers Ballpark in Arlington
Team: Texas Rangers
Date: June 16, 2013
Score: Blue Jays 7, Rangers 2

The Good: Beautiful ballpark. This stadium had always been on the top of my list of places to visit as it's architecture just reminds me of the ballparks of the early 1900's. The BBQ option in the CF concourse was nice (near the statue). The museum with all the Ranger plaques was a nice touch. All in all, just a really well designed stadium in every way.

The Bad: OK the area the ballpark is in....well it sucks. It's a long drive from either Dallas or Fort Worth, and Arlington itself has almost zero redeeming qualities from what I could tell. I had to pay a bunch for parking to a lot that was a significant walk to the park. It was HOT (this was a day game -- let's just say next time I visit I hope it's a night game!).

Miscellaneous: The terrible location for me really brings it down a notch or two. Everything else about the stadium, though, was outstanding. One interesting tidbit (that I promise I won't hold against the ballpark) -- while walking around the stadium, I somehow slammed my foot into a tool or structure of some sort and destroyed my baby toe (huge gash, nail almost gone, etc.). After treating my wound for a good 30 minutes, I went to first aid -- where they handed me a band aid! Hey, better than nothing I guess. As for Dallas -- cool city, have been there now 3 times, would really enjoy seeing my Mariners play a weekend series there.

Final Grade (and yes I have the right to change this in the future): B+

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0725s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb