CSBC Youth trip Mission Arlington day 5


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Arlington
June 29th 2011
Published: June 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I know that most of the time I start this blog out by talking about something that happened during the night or some other sort of funny, but tonight I want to start with something more. A blessing! This morning we went to our first locations for bible school. In case you do know we are working 6 locations with 3 different teams. We have a morning and an afternoon service. Terry Lightsey sent word to us that Brennan Wheat had a led a child to Christ today!!!!!! We were ecstatic for this blessing that was shown to us on this trip. Just one soul saved would make the trip well worth. We got back to Mission Arlington for lunch and got to hear the story first hand. Apparently this child had been coming to the services this week, and during play time he asked Brennan if he could talk to him, so they went over to the side of the area and he started talking to Brennan about salvation. He witnessed to him and prayed and he ACCEPTED JESUS INTO HIS HEART!! How much better can you ask for Man this is what we came for, we all are just so blessed. HOLD THE PRESS lets fast forward just a little bit to an afternoon service. Alex and Michael was taking this group of kids home, and West, Rena, and myself was cleaning up our area when all of the sudden you hear people running and screaming BROTHER WEST, BROTHER WEST!!!!! We thought something had done happened, but none of them could talk because they were so out of breath. They finally caught there breathes they told us that Michael had led a kid to Christ. Man what a day. If you could just see the looks on these kids faces while telling us these stories. This is what we came for to introduce Jesus to the people we come in contact with and we leave knowing for sure that 2 kids will spend eternity in heaven.
I do not know what the road will hold for the youth that at our church but I am very sure we will see great things from them.
Well to start the day out West and I got up and took the van to the shop to get the air fixed. As of now WE HAVE AIR!!! The van that we got did not have air and the door was held shut by a bungee cord. One of the first things we were told by Ms Tilly Burgin was that to be a missionary you have to live the way the people live that you are trying to reach. I didn’t understand this statement to begin with but I do now. The only thing while going down the road the bungee cord cam off but we are all ok. A side note I did not get lost today or take us to Dallas.
We made bracelets for the kids during crafts today and we told them the meaning of all the different beads, one child came and told West, Rena, and myself what each bead meant. That was one of the sweetest moments for me. West and I talked some today about things that have happened on the trip that have meant something to us. One of the most meaningful things to me is seeing the youth interact with all the kids. I can’t begin to explain how touching this has been to me. While watching them I will get chill bumps or as George Younce would call them “glory bumps”.
Some of you may have seen my post on Facebook this morning about the adults. I must say this has been a very enjoyable trip for all the adults. When you take this many people off there is always someone who wants to be the alpha. We have not had that on this trip. Everyone has worked so well together. We have laughed together, cried together, prayed together, and just have had a great time. I know we have all made a special bond that will last for a long time. We have all became close due to this experience.
Please continue to pray for us while we are here. We have had such a blessed trip that we can feel the prayers from everyone. The attendance for today was West team had 23 and 28. Scotty’s team had 2 and 8. Brads team had 8 and 15. There was a total of 832 kids in attendace this week so far.
I know that tomorrow will be an emotional day because it will be our last day to work with the kids. Its going to be hard knowing that we will leave these kids and not see them anymore. We can hope that we have left a mark on these kids’ lives and they will continue their spiritual growth thru Rainbow Express.
I know the last two nights these blogs have been going up kind of late, but we were not able to get in the church till after 8 because of services that were going on here at the church, there should not be anymore services this week so maybe I can get them up a little earlier the rest of our stay here. My prayer is that this blog has been as helpful to all of you back home as it has been for me. I know that I will look back on this journal and keep the memories that we have made close to my heart.



Additional photos below
Photos: 64, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb