Last Day in America


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee
December 30th 2008
Published: February 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Murfreesboro



I spend the day running errands, getting things done.

I stop to go out to eat at Red Lobster with Rebekah, and then we saw a matinee of Valkyrie, the new Tom Cruise film about the German rebels who plotted to kill Hitler. Quite a tear-jerker, and yet I found it uplifting and inspiring. It's important to remember that even in the midst of total evil and insanity, there are pockets of goodness. According to the book of John, "The light shines in the darkness; and the darkness shall not overcome it."

I don't stop running errands again until about 6:30 that evening, which is when I go to Rebekah's house and load as many boxes of my stuff as I can into Rhiannon's car. Dad said I can take it to his house and put it in the garage.

Finally, I go meet Rebekah and Lori at Toot's for some cheap oysters, sweet tea, and fried pickles. We had originally planned on watching the football game there, but I was really late arriving and I have to leave before it's over.

Saying goodbye is really hard. I love Rebekah so much, and I love Tennessee and Murfreesboro. I'm really gonna miss them.

Chattanooga



I arrive at Dad's house at 11:30 p.m., half an hour earlier than I had originally planned. While Danielle helps me unload my stuff, a huge old pick-up truck pulls into our yard. Blake and his friend, Nick, step out and stroll over. Blake is wearing some ugly, brown, old-man loafers and a horrible, wildly colored sweater that must have come straight off of Bill Cosby. I sarcastically compliment the get-up. He laughs, "Yeah, isn't it awesome!"

We just laugh and roll our eyes. Blake will be Blake and he doesn't give a damn what anyone thinks. That's what's cool about my brother.

I'm going to miss my family sooo much.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.359s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0709s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb