Still the Same


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Nashville
December 27th 2008
Published: January 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Lunch with Rachel and Aaron



Homemade bean soup. How could I resist?

Actually, what I couldn't resist was a chance to dine with two of my best friends, Rachel and Aaron. They've been married over four years, now, but I knew them back in college when they were engaged. Rachel is a high school math teacher by day and an amazing singer/actress by night. She's starred in a number of plays in the Nashville area and sings with a local, cover band. Aaron has his own recording studio in the downstairs of their cute home in Brentwood. He's also extremely spiritual and outdoorsy. After college, he hiked the entire Appalachian Trail, from Maine to Georgia, which took about six months. Both of them are very involved in their church and are absolutely the kindest, most open-minded people I've ever known. My admiration for them is endless.

The lunch is delicious, the conversation is refreshing, and the mosaic coffee table is still unfinished. (I'm glad they didn't finish it without me!)

Shopping with Rebekah



Aaaaw yeah! Old Navy!! I'm loving all these bright colors! I've gotten so used to everyone wearing all black and dressing up nicely all the time. American fashion is so much more casual, comfortable, and easy. Totally refreshing me! I decide that I don't care if my new light-kacki pants are unfashionable in London. I buy light-denim blue jeans as well, because I've been wanting some for at least a year. I've not seen one person in London wearing light-denim, but I don't care. I buy a beautiful, happy blue top that is totally not something you'd see on a European. But I love it. I'm an American and I'm gonna rock my American clothes!

Chris's Going-To-Japan-To-Teach-English Party



Chris is one of the most hilarious people I know. Tall, blue-eyed, hottie. When I first met him at a party four years ago, I was all flirting with him and stuff, and he just wasn't taking the bait. Since I can usually get a guy's attention, I thought, What's wrong with this guy? Find out later that he's gay. HA! Who knew? In hindsight, I don't know how I didn't know once he opened his mouth.

Anyway, the party is fun. We eat pizza and drink some of America's finest domestic beer from a keg. Beer pong and Apple-To-Apples topped off the night. Chris wears a white shirt with a big red dot dyed into the middle (and some of the dye bled through to the back) and blue bandana around his head like the Karate Kid. He spent the night trying to do everything with chopsticks, including throwing the ping pong ball. When he would sink the ball into the opponent's cup of beer, he'd tauntingly say, "Konichiwa!" bowing with his hands together in prayer pose.

Turns out, I'm actually pretty good at beer pong; my team kicked ass! Apples-To-Apples, not so much. I don't know most of the people here, and I think no one gets my sense of humor.

I leave at 3:30 in the morning. I can't believe I stayed up this late. I drive home slowly, taking in the skyline of Nashville one last time. The Batman Building, the L & C Tower, the Coliseum where the Titans play, the Cumberland River.

Chris's house is in such a great area, I can't even believe it. It's a perfect view of the city and so close to everything. I'm jealous. I wish I lived in this house. I wish I lived in this area of Nashville, Tennessee.

But I left Tennessee. And Chris will, too.

Who will be here when I return?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.336s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 42; dbt: 0.1079s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb