Valentine's with Elvis


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Memphis
February 14th 2008
Published: February 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

An actual real day off an everything. One where I could go out and not make phone calls! We slept in, which was pretty much amazing. All the kids, plus the other flew to Florida at like 3. Rachel, Beth, Garry, Bev and Florence are still here with me. The joke all day has been that Garry had 5 dates for Valentine’s Day! Woot!

We went into Memphis and dropped off Rachel, Beth and Florence to shop. I joined Garry and Bev in their journey to Graceland. It was pretty fun! Learned a lot, that’s for sure. It was last redecorated in the mid-70s, so there’s green shag carpet on the ceiling in one room, dark wood everywhere, and a whole room of just white (including and 15’ couch.) There were halls and halls of his awards- gold and platinum albums, Grammys… and tons of costumes- more white jumpsuits than you could ever imagine. Pretty amazing.

Elvis’ private airplanes were on display too. The big one, the Lisa Marie, was occasionally used for personal things, but mostly for his cross-country tours to transport him and the band. There was a second, smaller jet used for the advance crews to
No LoafingNo LoafingNo Loafing

I loved this!
go ahead of him and made sure things were ready when he arrived. We thought the Choir should invest in a few of these. A big one to replace the bus, and a small one to replace the minivan. We wouldn’t need 24 karat gold-plated seat belt buckles though.

We went to the Peabody Hotel, which has ducks in the fountain inside. And there were horse-drawn carriages outside, so I got to pet the horses (and one of them had a dog!) Yea! It’s been over 3 weeks since I’ve touched an animal! Not quite like going to the zoo, but pretty good.

Beth found this great BBQ place for us for lunch- but the only serve one thing… ribs. Yea! So good! Made me think of Randy’s ribs, only different because there was a dry rub on them. Yum yum. We all chilled in the city for a bit, then came back and ran errands.

Florence and I are having fun; I’m learning a lot about the culture in Uganda and everything. Like dowry. A friend of theirs is engaged. By that I mean he wants to marry someone who wants to marry him, only he
The Lisa MarieThe Lisa MarieThe Lisa Marie

We should get a plane like this...
needs to figure out a way to get cows so he can give them to her family. I like this idea. Maybe I’ll start doing that with my kids 😉 Or the fact that when they’re born, they’re given an English name as well as a cultural name. Apparently this is because they were colonized by the Brits until 1962, at least she thinks that’s why. If you want to get a job in Uganda, you cannot unless you have a certificate in English. Florence stood and played with my hair for a good 10 minutes today; apparently she thinks it’s soft (thanks Dad). But hers looks super-cool with the braid things. I’ve also been learning a lot about the hassles of coming to the US from other countries- dealing with visas and all.

Prossy mentioned one the other day when she was talking to the kids. She said that Ugandan parents train their kids from birth to work- cook and clean and get water. I sort of knew that, but she explained the why in a new way. She said “Parents don’t have long to live. So they think, ‘If I die tomorrow and my sister or whoever
Look!  I'm in a picture for once!Look!  I'm in a picture for once!Look! I'm in a picture for once!

Do you see who else is?
is kind enough to take in my child, she/he needs to not be a burden on them.’” Imagine raising kids with that mindset. There’s your perspective for the day. You’re welcome.

Everyone comes home tomorrow, but we have most of the day off again. Doing lots of laundry while the kids are away. Rest is good, although sleep isn’t always great on the cots. It’s been nice not to have to get up and do shows daily, as much as I love it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.113s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb