Graceland, Memphis and the Mississippi


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Memphis
June 14th 2007
Published: June 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Graceland is an example of "poor white boy taste on a Hollywood budget", according to a guidebook writer. The home of Elvis was really fun to tour, even though neither of us grew up with his music or influence. The way he lived his life (minus unpleasantries that were too risque for the tour to mention) was interesting to see, hear and read about. There were several parts to the tour, from the inside of his mansion to the airplanes and cars that he owned. There were giant rooms full of his gold records, exactly as he had them displayed, to mini museums of the costumes he wore in his later years. Graceland has some neat and not too hoaky parts, from the straightforward audio tour to the policy of displaying any bouquets of flowers at the gravesights that any fan sends at any time of the year. However, each section of the tour, other than the mansion, deposits you directly into a different gift shop. If you can resist buying the "I love Elvis" t-shirt, you leave singing Elvis songs and with the minor idea that you really did need that Elvis teddy bear still lingering in the back of your mind.

Crossing into Memphis on our way to Graceland and the city was our first view of the Mississippi. Every time I cross it, it always seems bigger, and makes me think of paddleboats. We went into Memphis in the evening to head to Beale street, that famous place where so many famous blues musicians used to come to play. It's like a tame version of New Orleans' Bourbon Street, where blues groups play in the parks and you can drink beer in the street. We even had some BBQ ribs, taking in Memphis's famous food..and getting it all over us. The city itself is full of museums, mostly having to do with music and record companies, but also some focusing on civil rights. Though we didn't visit any, we felt the strong pride that the city has in its roots. We relaxed, enjoyed our "Big Ass Beer", and listend to the blues that night.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



18th June 2007

Please?
I'd like that pink Cadillac as a souvenir, honey. Thanks!
18th June 2007

Sure thing!
haha! wish i had known, i would have driven it out of the museum for you!
20th June 2007

Cool!
Anthony and I will be in Memphis soon...I hope we get a chance to drink some "Big Ass Beer" too! :) Drive Safe! Love, Linda
26th June 2007

I see you!!!
Hi Unkie Paul and Auntie D, Me and Mi-Mi are looking at you and I am so happy to see you. Every time I am here with Grandma I have to see where your at and of course to tell you hi from your B-Hanker. I love my Cowboy boot's! Of course I think they look great with just my diaper on but Grandma said I look like a silly goose. I will let you go and hope to see you both soon...............................Love your Kailyn B.

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb