Graceland


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Memphis
June 13th 2007
Published: June 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ike & Trina visit the KingIke & Trina visit the KingIke & Trina visit the King

Here's Ike & Trina in the Graceland parking lot. The Heartbreak Hotel is the building in the background. You can also see the Graceland campground.
What a fun day. Soon after I left the campground, it dawned on me that I could have a little side trip in Memphis on my way to Russellville, AR. About an hour out of Memphis I stopped at a rest stop to survey the map and get my directions to Graceland!!! I called my cousin Jeff to find out if he had been there and if it was worth spending a few hours there. He gave me a thumbs up and even called back a few minutes later to make sure I had detailed directions. I was primarily concerned about parking. Ya gotta think ahead when you have a combined length of 50 feet or so and can’t back up with a vehicle in tow. I had it down to where I got off the interstate, but he let me know the parking lot was the 4th light after I got off I-55 southbound.

Pulled in, paid my parking fee and found a place to park where I would hopefully not get blocked in. A Graceland security guy stationed in the parking lot even brought a cone over and put in front of my rig so nobody would
Bijou signBijou signBijou sign

Here was a sign around the gift shops area.
block me in. I fired up the generator, turned on the AC for Chessy and headed to Graceland.

It was an absolute blast, a little tacky but worth the stop. After I spent an hour in the mansion, I went back to the RV to make sure the generator was running and Chessy was chilling, and then checked out the car museum, his airplanes, and the jumpsuit museum (that was a bit much).

When I was at his grave I actually saw a lady wiping tears from her eyes as she stood there!!!

But as I left I saw Elvis!!! Unfortunately my camera was in the overhead compartment and I had been cleared for takeoff so I didn’t get a shot of him. Seriously as I was waiting for the light to turn green to leave the parking lot, a guy who at least had the hair style and the physique of the older Elvis walked by. It was TOO FUNNY.

Uneventful ride on in despite a 30 minute delay on I-40 while the state of Arkansas had people close down a lane so they could pour a concrete “drain” in the middle of the median.
Elvis' living roomElvis' living roomElvis' living room

Some great stained glass in Elvis'living room. I had a lot of fun playing around with my new camera with high ISO indoors and no flash.
There was a 5 mile backup, bumper to bumper in BOTH lanes to get to the merge.

So I didn’t roll into the campground until 7 pm. Had I not made reservations here I’d probably have stopped a little earlier, but tomorrow will be a short drive in to Tulsa.

Decided I’d go out to eat after I got the RV set up, walked and fed Chessy. Lots of choices within walking distance of the campground. Started out towards Cracker Barrel but chose to stop in The Dixie Café instead. Glad I did as I saw what I thought was a group of car buffs leave the restaurant. I asked when I was leaving and learned there is a big car show on Saturday near here at Petit Jean State Park. http://www.petitjeanstatepark.com

I watched the group walk across the street towards a hotel from the restaurant. I looked over there as I left and they were all circled around in the parking lot with their fold up chairs. So being the shy introverted person I am (NOT!) I walked over and inquired about the car show. Had a GREAT time talking with the Okies (they were all
1st Elvis sighting1st Elvis sighting1st Elvis sighting

Elvis was enjoying a game of pool in his basement while I was there.
from Duncan, OK). One guy who got up and talked with me at length is restoring a 1953 Ford Indy Pace Car. Had a blast talking with them and will stop at the Museum of Automobiles, just outside the state park, (founded by former Arkansas governor Winthrop Rockefeller ) in November on my way to New Mexico.

http://www.museumofautos.com

Ok with that, I’m going to work on a few images from the day, look at my route of flight for tomorrow and call it a night.

Thanks for checking in. “Talk” to you from Tulsa!

Bruce and Chessy





Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Ferrari 2nd Elvis sightingFerrari 2nd Elvis sighting
Ferrari 2nd Elvis sighting

Elvis took his Ferrari that is in the car museum for a spin while I was there.
Elvis at the drive inElvis at the drive in
Elvis at the drive in

I later saw Elvis in his purple Cadillac convertible at the Drive-In.
Taking Care of BusinessTaking Care of Business
Taking Care of Business

I learned today that one of Elvis' mottos was Taking Care of Business. He had a lightning bolt painted on the wall of the TV room in his basement and on the tail of his 2 airplanes.
Elvis fanElvis fan
Elvis fan

One of Elvis' fans - a lady truck driver took time out today to pay her respects to the King. Although it appears that she is bent over the steering wheel crying, I think she was just putting on her driving shoes. She was not the lady I saw fighting tears at his grave.
Thank you very muchThank you very much
Thank you very much

Saw this as I was leaving. I thought it was a good way to end the journal for today. Elvis has left the building!


Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 73; dbt: 0.1253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb