This was not in the brochure!!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » South Dakota » Sioux Falls
September 26th 2009
Published: September 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

WOW someone from Penske was smart enough to let me drive the truck to Sioux Falls. The best part....the check engine light never came on. Oh well Jethro and Jimbob said there was a problem. Atleast no one had to ride with them. I could see how bad this was going to be. Out in the middle of the plains with no cell phone signal and a couple of crack heads....NOT!!! Anyway so here I am...waiting and waiting while 4 movers hired by Penske are taking everything off the old truck with the engine light that remains intermitent and placing it on the new truck. I am sitting with my father who has driven behind me in a second truck (apparently I underestimated how much I had accumulated in 22 years of marriage). The mosquitos are so bad and we are in the dark in an industrial area. The mover boss guy is a Vietnam vet with a bit of a temper overshadowed by moments of niceness. Then explosive temper again. He seems to belt out orders at random at the young cowboy helping to load who looks frustrated. One of the loaders does not speak English or atleast apears to only speak a bit of English. He is always smiling. Perma-smile. There was one other guy who must work with the move boss frequently as he did not seem to take the brunt of the yelling.

Dad just came back after a walk with a BBQ chicken sandwich that I would under normal circumstances turn down but looks like it will be fabulous since I am currently so hungry.

Done...finally. The mover boss thought I might have some room after it was loaded again but it appears the load was tight the first time and will be the same this time. I got in the truck in the dark in this industrial park late on a Saturday night (not the part of town I want to be in). When I started it there seemed to be a unclaimed bucket of bolts in the engine. Wow does this truck ever rattle!!! The suggestion was made to call Penske in the morning but we quickly dismissed that idea. Driving back I kept hearing sirens......may be a normal occourance in that neighborhood. I looked everywhere...nothing. Finally we realized it was coming from the engine...Dad thought it might be the blower. I flippen do not care as long as the truck makes it to Florida.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb