A Good Deed On The Way To Rushmore


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » South Dakota » Mount Rushmore
September 12th 2009
Published: September 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Friday, September 11, 2009

We departed Sturgis and Mount Rodney RV Park at a leisurely pace this morning. Our destination was Hart Ranch RV Park, about an hour away. I found this place online; three nights with full amenities for $40. The only catch was to listen to an hour sales pitch come Sunday morning. Hey, I’m open to possibilities! Why not?

On our way out of Sturgis, I noticed the 18 wheeler I was following kind of swerved to the left lane from our right lane. I looked in my left side mirror and saw a car coming up fast on my left side. Then I saw what the 18 wheeler’s swerve was for; a dead deer in the right lane of Hwy 90. So, I had to swerve myself, but to the right of the dead deer onto the apron of the highway.

The Beast handled this maneuver adroitly, and Uncle Joe followed along without protest or missing a beat. This is the reason I purchased a one ton truck with an extended wheelbase; control in tight situations at high speeds. And you know what? It worked!

And as Mr. Harvey would say, “Now, for the rest of the story.”

“Hello On Star, this is Paddy.”

“Howdy, Paddy. What are you doing in South Dakota? What can we do for you?”

And so, to cut to the quick, I asked On Star to call the SD Highway Patrol and report the dead deer in Hwy 90 at mile such and such. I was thanked for being a good citizen and they made the call to the SD Highway Patrol. Why, I may have saved a life or two. Shucks, it weren’t nothing anybody else wouldn’t do.

So anyway, we found our way to the Hart Ranch RV Park and checked in. And then we left for a tour of Mount Rushmore. It was smaller than I imagined, but kind of nice in a certain way. The story is interesting. We read some stuff, and watched a movie about the construction and all.

Shaddy stayed in The Beast in a shaded underground garage. He wasn’t allowed to roam the premises. He has gotten used to this and does his duty of staying with The Beast, as needed. He is always so proud of himself when we return. He had plenty of practice protecting the vehicle back when he and Nan would drive daily from Olympia to Seattle to visit me in the UW Medical Hospital when I had my pancreas surgery some time ago. I still tear up when I think of their devotion and love for me.

Anyway, this is the best part of our journey together that I can remember. We are having the time of our lives while we are up to it.

This Hart Ranch RV Park is the nicest place yet that we have “camped” in Uncle Joe.

See where we are at Hart Ranch RV Resort on Google Maps at:

Hart Ranch RV Resort

More to come. We are making a day trip tomorry east to the Badlands.

Paddy



Advertisement



12th September 2009

Interested
Hi Paddy Mavis and I made that same trip a couple years ago. Be Sure and go see The Crazy Horse Monument. It Is not far from Ruishmore and well worth seeing. Your Good friend Al
13th September 2009

Mt. Rushmore
Paddy: Glad you are having another good travel adventure. Gosh you are now a long way from home! I am so glad you are on this excursion and blogging about it. Doesn't look like they have made a whole lot of progress with the addition of President Reagan to Mt. Rushmore!

Tot: 0.294s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 87; dbt: 0.1524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb