Farm Boys RTE 2010


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » South Carolina
October 30th 2010
Published: November 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Darlington SpeedwayDarlington SpeedwayDarlington Speedway

Darlington, SC
Of course I went the long way to meet my friends from the Motorcycle Tours Forum for lunch at Farm Boys BBQ in Chapin, SC. I decide to head east to Darlington, SC to grab the latest tag from the Midlands Tag-A-Roma that I have been participating in with a group of riders from Adventure Rider group.

The morning air had a little chill to it that kept me wide awake. The hour and half ride to Darlington were uneventful and I found the tag right were I thought I would. Now the hard part is getting you photo up on the Adventure Rider sight before any of the other riders do. I do not have a fancy phone that would allow me to upload it from there so I had to race to the closest computer that I new of. So I point the V-Strom towards Columbia and headed to my son’s house to post my photo.

On the way home I checked the clock and decided I had a few extra minute to try out my new Shinko 705 tires on some dirt. I found what looked like a good dirt road and made the turn to uncharted riding. I spent about forty-five
Farm Boys BBQFarm Boys BBQFarm Boys BBQ

Chapin, SC
minute riding on some dirt roads and the new tires performed just as I had hoped they would. I once again found paved roads and programmed my GPS for my son’s house and made a beeline for it. I made it in time and was the first person to upload the tag. This means on my way home from lunch that I would have to find a new tag to post for the other riders.

After I left Columbia I road west to Chapin to meet my friends for some good old Southern BBQ. I was almost late and the parking lot at Farm Boys was already full of bikes. There were bikes from eight states and Canada in the parking lot when I arrived. I think we had twice as many riders as last year. Other than Canada I think the furthest rider I say was from New York.

The food was great and the deserts were even better. We all had a great time kicking tires in the parking lot and telling lies.

On the way home I road back though Columbia and stopped in Five Points to get my new tag. I parked my bike under the new Hootie and the Blow Fish monument and took my photo along with a Hint photo.

When I got home I posted my new tag and cleaned up the bike.

Link to 2009 Farm Boys RTE:
RTE – Farm Boys BBQ – Chapin, SC


Total Miles Ridden = 287.1



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Off Road RidingOff Road Riding
Off Road Riding

Great dirt roads!


11th November 2010

Nice
Nice write up. Thanks for posting the link.
28th December 2010

Always enjoy
Alec, I always enjoy reading your blogs. I like the food photos too!! I think everyone loves yours because you are on a unique travel mission. Once again, thanks for sharing.
28th December 2010

Always enjoy
Alec, I always enjoy reading your blogs. I like the food photos too!! I think everyone loves yours because you are on a unique travel mission. Once again, thanks for sharing.

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 20; dbt: 0.0236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb