The Beginning


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » South Carolina » Columbia
February 3rd 2011
Published: February 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

MadridMadridMadrid

This is a picture I took last time I was in Madrid but it will have to work until I take some more!
People always tell me that studying abroad is a once in a lifetime opportunity. Well maybe some people only do this once but hopefully this will just be the start of many international travels for me. I am going to be studying in Madrid, Spain from February 2011 until July 2011.

Ever since I was younger I have always wanted to go to abroad. This wish came true when I got to go to Spain and Italy the summer before my senior year in high school. The next summer, I got the opportunity to go on a mission experience to Ecuador. I do not know what I want to be when I "grow up" but I do know that I want it to involve traveling, languages, and different cultures.

Getting ready for this trip has not been an easy feat. I am lucky enough to have one of my best friends, Lidia Awad, going with me and that we both got accepted into the program. After that I had to get an appointment at the Spanish consulate in Miami for a visa to go study abroad. This was easier said then done since the consulate didn't answer emails and when I called their phone all I got was a recording, but I finally got one. After ten hours in a car, a friend, Chip Bowman, and I finally got to Miami. After my first meeting with the people at the Spanish consulate, which ended in tears, I had to fill out a new application, get new passport pictures, get a money order, get a new envelope to mail my passport back to me and get insurance information, all in about two hours. Luckily, I got everything accomplished on time, except the insurance info. Finally, I got the information the consulate wanted but the office closed at 1:00 and it was 1:30. I was so worried I would have to spend another night and wait another day to apply for my visa. Chip and I decided to go to the consulate anyway, though, just in case, and I decided that I would cry/beg/yell or anything else I needed to do in order to see if I could get someone to help me. It turned out all the workers were still there, just eating lunch. One of the nicest men I have ever met agreed to help me out if I waited until they were finished. I could have kissed that man I was so relieved! So I went back through the metal detector and turned in all my papers. I was so happy and so glad to be leaving Miami, even if it was 4 hours later than planned.

The next step was to wait for my passport to be mailed back to me with the visa inside, which usually takes 3-4 weeks. Since I was supposed to be in Spain exactly three weeks from the day of my appointment, I was worried to say the least. But surprising it came in only a week and a half.

The next struggle was finding a decent apartment close to a bus stop without having to spend $600 a month on rent. After emailing back and forth with the apartment place, and texting/calling/facebooking/skyping with Lidia, we found a place. But the people at the company, Aluni, wanted us to pay the deposit over the internet before we got to Spain. We were not about to pay 300€ for a place we had never seen before. So we have decided to just wait until we get to Spain.

Another major problem that I had to deal with was because of the wonderful winter weather (sarcastic) we received at the beginning of January. Because of it, the offices of Oglethorpe did not open until a week later than normal, pushing the drop/add date back, and therefore pushing back the date when I would receive a refund from the school. If this had been a small refund, I wouldn't be worried but it is how I am planning on paying for my trip so I kinda need it. Well, I am still waiting on that but I am going to be able to buy my ticket and rent my apartment and survive in Spain until that check comes because of a certain angel in my life.

So that is where I am now. I am going to leave most likely Sunday from Charlotte and get there Monday morning about 8 am, Spain time. (So about 2 am EST).

I am going to try my best to keep everyone informed while I am gone and either email, facebook, skype or this blog will be the best way to reach me while I am gone. If you have any questions, feel free to ask. I will be posting pictures and maps and more information about school, classes, apartments, and such once I get to Madrid. But that's all for now. Next time you hear from me I will be Europe!!

Advertisement



6th February 2011

Catherine, Love reading about the pre-excitement! Can't wait to read more. I am a blog nerd (itsagoldenday.blogspot.com), so I know how much it means to have people read AND comment! Looking forward to installment number 2...
13th February 2011

Oh, Catherine, how wonderful to hear from you! Life if good, eh?...after all is said and done! You have such a great way of describing your adventures. I can't wait to hear more. We ALL miss you, but are so grateful to God for this marvelous opportunity for you. I love you, mucho! God bless and keep you.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb