Breath Deeper, Daydreamer


Advertisement
Published: December 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

houseshouseshouses

Some old houses
After a much needed good night's sleep, I was up at around 9, hoping to get out and about early. However, this was before I remembered I had to do some laundry, which delayed me by a couple of hours. Still made it into town for midday though, with the hope of catching a bus tour round town at that time.

However, on arrival at the visitor's centre I was told that due to a Christmas parade, there would be no city tours today. This was annoying, but not the end of the world, so I went for a walk instead, down to the very tip of the peninsula at Battery Park.

Like Savannah, Charleston has its fair share of colonial buildings, and certain areas look like they probably haven't changed at all for 200 years. Also unnerving for an Englishman was how friendly everyone was. I'm not used to total strangers saying good morning to me as I walk down the street and probably came across as rude for opting the technique I use back home of not making eye contact with anyone.

Once I reached the end of the road (literally), I came back on myself and made my way back in the vague direction I started from. Nearly back at my starting point, I came across a large record shop, and (out of character for me I know), I decided to take a look. The shop in question is one of the best record shops I've ever been to, purely because they were selling Menswear's entire back catalogue (NB for those not au fait with Menswear, they were a much maligned mid nineties Britpop band who never got the success they deserved. Though I'm about the only person in the world who thinks that). I'd like to think that this was not because they had the records left over from 1995, but because to this day the people of Charleston still come in demanding a copy of 'Being Brave'.

Ahem, anyway, once I'd calmed down and left the record store, I watched a bit of the parade. It seemed to me, pretty much everyone in town had a float. I was half tempted to jump on a bicycle myself and wave to the cheering crowd, but decided I had better things to do.

Like the Charleston museum, apparently the oldest museum in the US. It was like a cross between the museums I went to in Savannah and Jacksonville - a lot of historical items, followed by a random dinosaur skeleton that had nothing to do with the region.

Having killed about half an hour, with another fairly dull museum, I decided to eat and go home where I was told Fritz was ill so wouldn't be coming out to play. Which was probably for the best as I have an early start in the morning.

Advertisement



4th December 2007

Ill...
....probably because of that pie Jon Peache. Did you go 'American' on it before it was consumed?
4th December 2007

Menswear???
Maybe it's a new release out there? If, as you say, it looks as though it hasn't changed for 200 years, maybe time just goes slower and it's still actually 1996?

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1003s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb