Southern U.S. Day 3


Advertisement
Published: May 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 3

When I checked the weather I was pleasantly surprised to find the weather report said no rain and temp = 70 – perfect riding weather. It was cloudy, but not raining so I

I loaded the bike, and put my airwing on the seat and went in to eat breakfast. I heard someone say – its raining and I turned around and sure enough it was raining. My seat was soaked. I dried it off as best I could, but my butt still got wet. The rain blew past and it looked like it wasn’t going to rain again so I started to ride.



I rode through several little drizzles, each time I saying to myself, this is the last one, it is clear ahead, I wont put on my rain gear – which is a pain in the ass to get on and off. It kept doing this to me for about an hour and a half and then it started to rain hard. I pulled into a gas station and put on my rain gear and continued on. It stopped raining about 10 minutes after I put on my rain gear and the sky started to clear and after another hour it was mostly sunny skies at 70 degrees. By the time I got to Charleston the weather was perfect, mid 70’s nice breeze, clear blue sky (I forgot the sky got blue). I stopped at the Charles Pinckney house for two stamps and then rode over to fort Moultrie for 4 stamps.



The ride from Charleston to Savannah was nice. It was pretty, but not as pretty as the west.



Out west there was so much to say I took the laptop in with me ewhen we stopped for coffee to take notes. Here all I write about is the weather because frankly, the east coast scenery is boring, at least the ride down the coast is.



Everyone in NC & SC does the speed limit!! It is an amazing thing to see – everyone pretty going the same speed. I actually find it harder to drive in this kind of traffic because you can’t get away from the groups of cars because they ride nest to each other doing the same speed.



Tomorrow morning I am going to Fort Pulaski National Monument to get a stamp in Georgia, and then I am going to try and get as close to key west as I can. It is 680 miles from here and I need to be there in the early afternoon on Wednesday.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb