Off to London to seal my fate...I hope


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Rhode Island » Providence
December 6th 2007
Published: December 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I am off to London on the 17th of December. Whilst staying in a few hostels and enjoying the local pubs, I will be interviewing for a job with the Imaginative Traveller. If offered the position as tour leader I will be off to SEAsia or perhaps Egypt within a few short weeks thereafter. This interview is something I look forward to and only mildly dread. I am surprisingly calm, but certain this will morph into complete panic as I exit the train in Ipswitch and board the bus that will drop me acrross from their office in Suffolk. I can only be as prepared as one can by reading travel guides and attempting to learn basic phrases. Though I am positive that my pronounciations of Thai words would probably repulse a native speaker of the language. It's rather difficult to know what to focus on for this process. I do know that Malaysia just celebrated 50 years of independence and wish I were there for that party. I feel confident to a point, but need to keep studying and pushing along. Only 11 more days after all...
After returning from my 6 weeks abroad this summer, 5 in Africa and one in Europe, I knew that I wouldn't be home for long. I came back longing only to leave as soon as I could. I love home. I love my family, my friends, but I love not being home more than anything. It's an interesting paradox, I feel more at home when I'm on the road (so to speak). I am certain that this is the life for me. I originally wanted to go back to East Africa to tourlead, but am now more excited than I thought possible about the prospect of doing so in SEAsia or Egypt. This opportunity is once in a lifetime as far as I am concerned. I have been so engrossed in this process and the, what I have considered to be, probability of getting this position that I haven't thought much about what I will do if I return home and am still just a bartender. Whoa, that shall be a sobering and more than slightly depressing reality to wade through. I'd much rather dive into a new life, a new career full with the passion that I know lies dormant when I am here.
So, I'm off to London, off to the rest of my life! I began this travel blog now because I'm hoping it's a raindance of sorts. It may somehow convince the universe that I need to keep this going and therefore must continue to travel. I'm a silly little bird sometimes, but hey. So, this blog has been started so that my friends and family can keep track of me when I'm far far away.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb