The First Leg


Advertisement
Published: May 29th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Arlington to Swarthmore May 26, 2015


Harry has seen me off on all my trips, including my attempts to earn the Iron Butte award. This time we had breakfast together at the McLean Family Restaurant, before I pushed off on the first tranche of the journey -- up to Philly to the 45th reunion of my Swarthmore College class. I took the non-I-95 route North, over the Bay Bridge and up US 301 through Maryland and Delaware. A great ride through farm country, though the police were out in force for Memorial Day weekend. I have never seen so many cars getting tickets. There weren't many classmates in residence when I arrived in Philadelphia, so I took advantage of the time to wander the campus looking for memories and pictures of buildings and plants. It certainly looked like a country club, with large white tents out on the lawn for parties, and every flower bed carefully manicured. We joined forces in the evening with other members of my class, and listened to a speech about the future of the college from President Valerie Smith.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



29th May 2017

Godspeed Jim
Have a fun, safe and inspirational trip.
29th May 2017

Memories
Jim, Your images of Swarthmore and of the reunion brought back so many memories! I also noticed in our yearbook (there was a copy in McCabe that made Ernie all nostalgic), a lot of your pictures are featured--so you had this passion for photography even then! I hope your cold gets better as your drive north! I laughed at the picture of Clothier and your musing as to why you went "out the window"--but maybe we should do more of that, not less!
29th May 2017

Swarthmore photos
Jim, I'm glad you decided to adjust your trip schedule to allow you to join us at the reunion. It was great to have you there, and I so appreciate having these beautiful photos of the campus. I don't think I've ever seen the place looking so idyllic. The College would be wise to use these photos in its next recruitment brochure. Enjoy the trip North!

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0323s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb