Home again


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania
October 11th 2004
Published: July 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

11.10.2004 - Home again
Middlebourg, Pennsylvania, USA


In the last days I noticed a new emotion. Whether I am at the apartment of a host, in the car of a driver who picked me up at a gas station, or lying on the grass in the city park, I feel like I'm at home. The world became my home. Currently I am home, at Jess's in Middleburg, Pennsylvania. Tomorrow I will be at home again probably in Washington DC and in Orlando, or even Miami the day after. In the meantime I will find my home in different cars, service stations, and sidewalks of local roads and entrances to interstates.

I do not miss anybody; I don't need anybody in particular. If I want to be together with my parents, sister or friends, it is enough to remember them and they will be with me. If I need a ride, some food, accommodations or a simple chat, all I have to do is walk up to the person next to me and ask. I feel like one with the world as a whole. I feel I am a part of nature and part of humanity. But I also notice that I am supposed to give something back to the planet and to the people.

From New York I departed to Philadelphia. On the way I was picked up by a bus full of Korean English teachers. We had so much fun that I forgot to get out before the intersection for Philadelphia, so I ended up somewhere in Delaware. I went to an older man:
"Excuse me. Are you headed towards Philadelphia?"
"No, south!"
"Aha, I see... Ok. Can I join you?"
"What, aren' you goin' towards Philly?" was the old man surprised.
"Well, Philadelphia, Baltimore, DC - what's the difference?"
"Haha... Come with me."

After we shared the meal, we went to his Cadillac, and while he was showing me maps of the region, two ladies approached us. They apologized for disturbing us and confusingly explained their situation. As I understood they ran out of money and out of gas. I felt like they were sincere. I reached in my pocket and handed a $20 bill to the younger one.
"Take it. Hope it helps."
"Oh... are you sure?"
"Of course I am sure. It was given to me. I pass it on. There is a way that you can thank me for what I've done to you."
I saw tears in her eyes mixed with surprise by the last question. "How?"
"Next time you see somebody in need. Help him."
She hugged me, wrote her number in my red notebook, and told me to call her if I do not find a place to sleep tonight.

I could have known what would happen to me 30 minutes after Irwin had left me on the gas station near DC. A lady in blue Mercedes waved to me.
"Can I help you somehow? Do you need money for the hotel."
"Thank you. I'm perfectly fine."
"I want you to take this. Have fun tonight."
I kept the $20 bill that she handed me and I smiled as she drove away.

Around 2 o'clock in the morning I hooked up with a group of fun people: 4 Brazilian beauties, an Afghan man, and a Palestinian man. I asked right away:
"Can I stay at your place, guys?"
"Sure. Be my guest." The Afghan guy surprised me by his immediate response.
We all ended up at his place. We ate and drank, sang and laughed and became friends.
When we decided that it would be time to go to sleep, it was around 8:30 am. Raid (the Palestinian guy) started singing songs in Arabic and making comments. I do not remember when the last time was that I laughed so much!

On Sunday, the next day, I was looking for a church that had an evening service. A couple of guys approached me and asked me if I was looking for a Buddhist meditation.
"Well, it is ok..."
"Go there and turn left on 17th street."
There I met a gentleman, with whom I stayed with for the rest of the week. He gave me keys to his apartment and I had the whole lower level of the house for myself.

The most interesting object that accompanies me on the journey is an mp3 player. The first one was stolen in Spain, and when I earned enough money to buy myself a new one (it was in Madrid), I spilled pineapple juice on it when I was boarding the plane. A few days later it started working again and I finally put an end to it when I dropped it on the floor 4 days ago. I borrowed Jackson's (my host's) mp3 player a couple of times.
You can imagine my surprise when I looked in the bag that Jackson prepared me for the trip departing Washington DC. Besides two sandwiches, two apples, water and chocolate, there was HIS DISCMAN!

It is autumn in Pennsylvania. It is getting too cold for my summer wardrobe. It is time to head south, towards the sun and sandy beaches.

I want you to always remember that you live in an awesome world!


*** This is a report from the archive. Whole story, photos, audio and video are on the webpage www.peacehiker.com. ***
*** Esto es el reportaje del archivo y en español lo puedes leer en la página www.peacehiker.com ***
*** To je arhivska reportaza in v slovenskem jeziku je na voljo na spletni strani www.peacehiker.com ***



Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb