Before the Gambia


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania
January 19th 2007
Published: January 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The girlsThe girlsThe girls

Hanging at college
Hey everyone!

Here's my first post before I go to Africa, kind of as a test run to make sure it's working!

So, I'm going to study abroad at the University of the Gambia, along with 5 others from my college, in its capital, Banjul, and I have no idea what to expect. The country is about 90% Muslim, and as the country is in Africa, people will mostly be Black, and I'll be in the minority at least two ways, so I think that will be a big switch. What else? I've packed a lot of skirts, due to both the warm weather and cultural expectations for what modest women wear. I rarely (I mean rarely) wear skirts here at home, so that will be strange for me. I'm kind of a tomboy.

Also, I'll be living with fellow students from my flagship college in a house, so it will be like "The Real World" from MTV. Just kidding, I hope there won't be so much drama, but we're going to fit 6 people in 2 bedrooms, so we'll see. They all seem laid back, as I think I am, so we should fit in to the
Me and MernMe and MernMe and Mern

Hanging at college
Gambia's more carefree (or so I've heard) lifestyle.

Things I think I'll miss most:
-my family
-my friends, at home and at school
-driving
-internet access readily available
-electricity always working
-my favorite foods

How did I get ready?
-shots for tetanus, polio, hepatitis, and yellow fever
-pills for typhoid
-ongoing pills for malaria
-a lot of shopping for skirts etc.
-reading about this awesome country in which I'll be living

Things I'll do while I'm here (hopefully):
-take classes - Drama in Society, Economic History of West Africa, Peace and Conflict Studies, Gender and Development, and a Gambian culture course
-do an internship (but I don't know what yet)
-play soccer?
-go to the beach
-make new friends
-learn about the Gambia and learn some of the local language
-see some cool animals (monkeys and crocodiles at least)

Random fact: Why is it "the Gambia" and not "Gambia"? Some people have told me it's because Zambia is also in Africa, and that would get confusing, so they added the "the" to differentiate.

So, I'll post again once I get a little settled in Africa next week! Hopefully I'll have some exciting travel stories, especially
Christmas GamesChristmas GamesChristmas Games

Roomie and I
since I've never been on a plane before. I'll miss all you Americans, and the Ecuadorian, and the German (my roomie). Love you all and peace until next time.






Advertisement



19th January 2007

Hey Sweety! I love it. Weblogs are so cool. I hope you keep it updated.
22nd January 2007

Dude
Oh chica! I miss you soo much already. And you didn't even leave yet! Oh, this is going to be a crazy few months for me. Anyway, I hope you have (or are having if your reading this while in THE Gambia) an awesome experience. I can't wait to hear all about it. I don't know how to close this. I can't say see you later, well I could, but later would mean almost 4 months, and that just doesn't seem right. Anyway, I'll be thinking about you often. Remeber, JUST SAY NO! ~Jolene
22nd January 2007

<3
Do you have to go!?!??!?!?
2nd February 2007

Update this! I desperately want news - but Im sure youre having a blast. I miss it! Hows the beach at leybato? Sigh... MISS YOU!!
2nd February 2007

Update?
Hey - We are missing you and I am checking this page every day and I am waiting for an update!
6th February 2007

There's just so much to write. I'm trying, but I never have time, but now I can go online at my internship, so I'm getting there. Miss you! Hope Belgium's okay and tell me about your internship.
6th February 2007

Sorry Chirsta, I'm trying to get a chance to go online! I have to figure out what to write about! Maybe tomorrow! Today I'm putting pics on!
7th February 2007

Pics?
So where are these pictures you speak of?
7th February 2007

In the gallery. Go to www.travelblog.org/bloggers/loora and then I have a gallery. Click it, and there are some pics, but not a lot b/c it takes forever to upload them.
7th February 2007

more, more, more!
I know the internet is hard to get to at the Gambia, but with all we are hearing about you doing, expected to see some more exciting photos....Laura winning the best karyoke prize etc..... Keep having fun but work hard like you always do too... Love you bye

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb