The End.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania
January 27th 2018
Published: January 27th 2018
Edit Blog Post


Libby, Khim, Mean, and I.
Well, this is officially my last blog post.

On Thursday, we spent time evaluating the program and packing. Our final meal was Pad Thai and sticky rice with mango for dessert. I had ten helpings...but it's fine.

I somehow managed to pack all of my souvenirs in my small suitcase and everything else in my large one. I had to help Libby pack her suitcases which required me to put my entire body weight on it in order for it to close. Before we left I decided to give Mean my Winnie the Pooh drink dispenser because there was no way for it to fit in my suitcase. I hope she likes it and is able to supply her roommates with an abundance of water 😊

At 8 pm we met our buddies downstairs with our suitcases. We walked to the front of the school to board the BCNC bus for one final time.

Sitting with Mean, we reminisced on our three weeks together. She told me that she couldn't believe how quickly the weeks passed and how she wished she could make time slow down. While sad, this bus ride is one of my favorite moments with Mean because she was not afraid to try and speak English. We did our best trying to communicate throughout our three weeks, but I assumed her English wasn't very good based on how little she used at first. Turns out, she's actually very good. She just takes longer in processing and deciding what words to use.

On the ride we talked about future plans. If I visit Thailand before she comes to America, I will stay with her at her home and meet her family. If she comes to America, she will stay with my family. She kept saying that it may take her 20 years until she is able to afford coming to America, but I hope I can get her here sooner.

It was painful arriving at Chiang Mai Airport because I knew what was coming next.

Khim was sobbing on Libby's chest as soon as we started saying our goodbyes. I was holding back the tears pretty well until I looked at Khim. Leaving Thailand would've been much easier had we not met these people, but I am so thankful for the special bond we formed over a brief period of time. Mean
Community.Community.Community.

Messiah doing a home visit in the Donkeaw Community.
and I hugged 10 times and continued to remind each other how we would stay in touch. But we knew that talking on social media would not be the same as time spent in person. They walked us to the escalator as we prepared for our 24 hour journey back home. I hugged Mean one last time as she wiped a few tears from her face and said, "goodbye my buddy."

Mean surprised me by presenting me with a gift and telling me I could not open it until I was on the plane. I opened the bag to find a wooden box with various gifts in it. She bought me a cute elephant bracelet, a elephant fabric cloth, and a calendar. She printed out little pictures of me and the memories we made. The final object in the box was a journal. She wrote about each day and added pictures and cute stickers. I love it because she is telling the story of our journey through her perspective. I cried multiple times while reading it. Of all the gifts I brought back from Thailand this will forever be my favorite. I wish I could've done more for her and spent more time with the gifts I gave her, but I know that someday we will meet again, and I can fully repay her for everything she has done for me.

For those reading this blog and wondering where your next trip should be overseas. I highly recommend Chiang Mai, Thailand. Chiang Mai is a beautiful place where you can experience the city, mountains, farm land, and historic landmarks all in one place. The culture, close-knit community, and kindness that Thailand offers is incomparable to America. The people are hardworking, appreciative, selfless, and serve others to the best of their ability. They know that life can be difficult, but they wake up every day with a positive mindset and gratefulness in their hearts.

As Mean now knows that she has a family in America, and I know I have a family in Thailand. Kob Khun Ka (thank you) Chiang Mai & BCNC, until we meet again...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb