Valentines Day - so over-rated


Advertisement
Published: February 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I think Valentines Day has become so over-rated and is just an excuse for Hallmark, Hershey's and the flower store to scam more money out of us. I'm not saying I don't like the holiday because I think it can be fun. I have a boyfriend and Tuesday night we went out to a really nice restaurant and really enjoyed it. I also had cheerleading practice Tuesday morning before classes and a bunch of us brought stupid little valentines and candy for eachother. It was really just and excuse to have a little fun at 6:30 in the morning. However, I think it is so unnecessary to make a big deal out of it. There are so many commercials that are advertising such expensive things that I think are a little much for a Valentines Day gift. Zales had commercials saying they were having huge sales for valentines day and even cingular had commercials for the new pink razr phone saying, "just in time for valentines day." I dont think this holiday is supposed to be that materialistic. I think valentines day, along with some other holidays, has just become one big industry for the companies that make so much money off of all the chocolates and flowers that are bought.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.078s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb