one for the tumb


Advertisement
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

my terrible towelmy terrible towelmy terrible towel

oh the terrible towel...a must have for every steelers fan :) ...and this one is special to me cause i was holding it when the steelers one the super bowl in '06 finally getting "the one for the thumb"
this past sunday i sat down in front of my tv un the blue fuzzy chair in my room with my terrible towel in hand. i was surrounded by tons of food and friends. i ate my crunch wrap supreme from taco bell as the steelers kicked off against the seahawks in super bowl XL. Born in pittsburgh, with two parents who grew up there i have been a hard core steelers fan all of my despite living in connecticut.

after the final seconds of the clock ticked down and i knew the steelers were going to win, my friend was hugging me and my phone was ringing as my dad called me, along with my roommate who was in notre dame for basketaball. She's a pats fan so there is some good rivalry tension when it comes to football but her pats won the superbowl last year and she nicely congratuated me on my win.

The steelers one 4 superbowls in the 1970s with the likes of terry bradshaw, lynn swann, and franco harris. Football players who i grew up hearing all about every sunday when me and my dad sat down to watch the curren steelers team play, and every year ended in disappointment. Steelers fans like my dad had been waiting so long for that elusive 5th super bowl ring to put them up there with San francsisco and Dallas...they were waiting for "the one for the thumb." And finally in 2006 and steelers fans everywhere couldnt be more excited.

The superbowl is one of the biggest money makes of the years and is a perfect example of industry. Commercial time goes for billions of dollars, people buy wide screen tvs just for the game. People consume gross amounts of food, and of course after the game, the winning team throws a parade, gets crazily expensive rings, and there fans flock to the stores to buy the super bowl champions tshirts, hat, etc.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb