In Small Things Forgotten


Advertisement
Published: June 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I'm reading The Real Jane Austen, a biography that uses Jane's objects as the device (trope?) to get to the story. And I'm thinking how it reminds me of In Small Things Forgotten, read long ago in graduate school. As I vacuum my newly installed carpet, I think about the pleasure this Electrolux (thank you, Jennifer) is giving me and it's such a small thing. Then I think of my RV, a not-so-small thing, but small in the big scheme of things. And I think of the pleasure it's going to give Ed and me on our travels. Small things are best not forgotten.

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/02/17/books/review/the-real-jane-austen-by-paula-byrne.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1011.9kb