I forgot...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » Pacific
June 26th 2013
Published: June 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Yea, so I drove an extra 4 hours yesterday, but it was worth it. Because of some real life (i.e. job) issues, I didn't sleep all Sunday night and had to take care of some emails, blah, blah, blah. I tell my students, "NO EXCUSES!" So, I have no excuse. I was 2 hours into the trip and realized that I forgot my wallet. Thank goodness the store called to tell me the order for my mom's and sister's bday present was in. Otherwise, who knows? I turned around and had to say goodbye to the dogs all over again.

Finally arrived at Emily's (sister-in-law) around 9:45...another sad Apple Maps/GPS story. So glad I didn't stay home another night and bypass Gallipolis, OH. Was so great to talk and float in the pool, to rehash family stories and just be together without children or husbands. Thank you, Emily.

Started this morning at 8:15 and drove 10 hours. The Appalachian Highway is lovely and without traffic. Bypass the big road that goes thru Columbus. This road is way better. I stopped today every 1.5 hours, on average. It's hard driving. The sway (of a 9 ft. high vehicle.) The play (of the steering wheel.) It's tough.

Was hard to drive through places and not stop. New Harmony, IN. Mt. Vernon, IL. St. Louis. I lived there two years and there are some good reasons to stop. Oh well.

My first solo night is in a KOA, at Ed's suggestion. I'm just not willing to sleep at Wal Mart without him yet. And they have a pool. I pulled in my site, hooked up to electricity, and turned on the A/C to beat the 93 degree heat. It's pretty cozy in here and I can recharge all electronics.

(Apologies to Bill for not getting Cynthiana, IN postmark. I tried.)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb