Hasta Luego, Philly!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania » Philadelphia
September 6th 2016
Published: September 6th 2016
Edit Blog Post

It's been quite an amazing chapter of my life spending the past 3.5 years out in Philly and it's suburbs. I've become a yoga teacher, fallen in love, created new friends, lived out of my car, been an AirBnB host, survived a broken heart, seen a ton of music, explored a plethora of parks....the list is endless. As each year of my life passes I think to myself, "Now that was the most full year of my life!" and it's so exhilarating to think that maybe I'll be saying the same thing next year. Up and up and beyond my wildest dreams!

Right now I'm sitting in a café where I used to spend 6 hour stints as I remotely worked my 9-5 office job. Today I'm here completely unemployed and sitting next to a bag with all my possessions for the next 5 months. Tomorrow I embark on the biggest adventure of my life thus far: 5 months in Peru, India, Nepal, Thailand, and Bali with Orion, one of my favorite people in the world.

If Philly taught me something about travel it's that there are magical places hidden everywhere if I just take the time out to look. Fairmount Park and the Wissahickon are both goliaths of greenery, streams, and open space amid the hustle and bustle of the City of Brotherly Love. Oh, the parks of Pennsylvania have certainly earned a warm place in my heart <3 I've learned that there's a community for everything I could imagine, whether it's free-movement dancing, acroyoga, spiritual development, or selling my furniture. Farmers Markets and fresh food are never far and the amount of tiny cafes and mom and pop shops are just asking for frequent coffee dates with blooming friends. I'm pretty sure there are more yoga studios per square mile here than anywhere in the country.

With an open mind and willingness to explore corners outside of my comfort zone, I intend to allow myself to discover these hidden gems in every place I ever go.

Time to disconnect with this tech and look around a bit. Hasta luego!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb