First Entry


Advertisement
Published: July 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have never had a web page before and honestly have never blogged. I am currently in a world history class. I am a working student. My professor wants the class to write at least once a week, and give our thoughts about the culture around us.
I am not really sure exactly what it is that she wants, so at the moment I will just write about my work culture.
I work for a convenience chain located on the east coast (5 states).
The companies name is Wawa. ( which is a Native American word meaning Canadian goose, which is our symbol)
We have a culture that is specific to our stores. There are 550 of them, and customers refer to the stores that they visit as "My Wawa"
Before I was an employee of the company ( I am the general manager of one of the stores) I was a customer in quite a few different Wawa's depending on where I was living at the time.
The store that I frequented, became "My Wawa".
In each of the stores that I frequented, I met friendly people that gave me fast service.
Wawa is so well loved in our part of the world that it has its own blog site started by customers.
At my store, the store team keeps this culture alive, and we currently have a little over 19,000 customers a week come through our doors. A majority of these people are repeat customers, coming in a few times a day.
These folks begin their day with our coffee and maybe a breakfast sandwich.
Sometimes they end their day with us too, getting staples like milk and bread for the home and maybe dinner.
We get to know a lot of our customers by name, and a lot of times know what it is they want before they even ask, having it ready for them at the counter.
Some of what I have written is the Wawa Way and is Wawa culture.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb