At Philadelphia


Advertisement
Published: May 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The Philly MascotThe Philly MascotThe Philly Mascot

Whenever I see it I have to focus hard NOT to go "Mah nah mah nah"
After a very good night’s sleep and some wakening up, we (Terri, George and I ) went out for breakfast. Naturally I didn’t eat anything. The day was perfect for moving about in Philly and we started off by taking the bus to the centre, from there on we went towards the museum where the actual Liberty Bell was on display. It was interesting to see it, but even more so to see the building that used to house that bell, because it was used in the film National Treasure..

After the cracked gong we walked around for a while and got to see a whole lot of stuff, and I really appreciate it. The only disappointing thing was the market we visited... I bought candy... I ate candy... I almost got sick in the car a few days later when I overindulged on Hot Tamales..

The best thing about having a private tour-guide is that you will most certainly see things you never get to see, with a standard tour, and that is just what I like. Everyone can see the touristy things, I like to experience the “real deal”

Later on we headed out to
Liberty BellLiberty BellLiberty Bell

Would it be inappropriate if I mentioned the crack in the bell and how that could be interpreted?
look at the old ship MS United States, which is moored to the docks just outside George’s job. Even though it has been slaughtered for some silly reason, it still looked the part. The ship actually, at once, held the speed record USA – Europe. To see it is to witness history.

Culinary Treat

We went to Tony Lukes to introduce me for my first Cheesesteak, and I was delighted. Too good for my own best. I want more! As desert we went to Rita’s for some ice. It truly was an interesting encounter – not the Ice, but what took place there. I cannot divulge any info, but we had a load of laughs..

After a long day we went back home and I was truly filled with happiness, and when I thought nothing could top that I got yet another surprise. I got a truly extraordinary gift, from George, which made me very happy. Signed, by Kevin Smith, Batman comics. (Kevin Smith had written the story)


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

No tolling for youNo tolling for you
No tolling for you

This is where the bell used to reside, but now there is just a mock-up instead.
Carpenter BeesCarpenter Bees
Carpenter Bees

We do not have those in Sweden. They were cute so I decided to "shoot" them
Scary StuffScary Stuff
Scary Stuff

As seen in a shop-window. Now there is definitively something very disturbing about this picture.
China TownChina Town
China Town

The entrance to China Town
MS United StatesMS United States
MS United States

The other side looks quite better, but still; it's a magnificent ship.
Tony LukesTony Lukes
Tony Lukes

THE place to go if you want the best melt in the world - or at least the REAL Philly-steak.
IceCreamIceCream
IceCream

This is how funny it gets when eating from Rose's late at night


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb