Almost on my way...


Advertisement
Published: June 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Norris & SteveNorris & SteveNorris & Steve

Here we are looking mysterious at the infamous Masquerade Ball in Seattle.
Hi again,

First of all, I want to send out a huge THANK YOU to everyone that came to my send-off party in York, Penn. You guys brought the most useful things I could imagine (things that I had completely overlooked and had to slip into my luggage) and I it makes it so much easier for me to leave knowing that I won't be alone, because I have a whole community of friends and family supporting me Special thanks to everyone who came from long distances: NYC, Boston, Baltimore, South Carolina, Philly, Annapolis, DC, and even Berkley, CA!!!!! And another thanks to Sam and Jesse, who picked me up from my red eye flight at 6am and drove home with me. I love all of you guys and truly enjoyed your company on Sunday.

Likewise, I have to say thanks to my new family in Seattle: Norris, Brandon, Joelle, Shella, Nicole, Jana, Lubna, Adrian, and the list goes on.... We had a masquerade ball to celebrate the end of the UW school year and I adopted it as my going-away party part 1.

So now I'm in West Philly, staying with my friend BJ, and counting down
Ma FamilleMa FamilleMa Famille

ALl of us together for the celebration.
the minutes until I begin "Staging" tomorrow afternoon at the Holiday Inn. Then it's two more days and I'll be flying to Lome, Togo via Paris. I'll be posting some pics from the festivities (and perhaps a link to the rest thanks to my brother, Greg, and his girlfriend Connie), and I hope to update the blog before I leave. If I don't get a chance, then I'll talk to you again from Africa!

A bientot,
Steve

Advertisement



7th June 2006

Baie lekkere groeten uit Ierland
Hi Stevo!! I've been thinking about you all weekend long while I was in Belgium with my family... thinking I could've been at your party. I'm really sad I missed it and I really would've come all the way from Europe but the flights looked so bad.. I would've been too late anyway. We don't actually fly to Africa but it would be very nice to come and see you overthere so... who knows! Or like you said, maybe next year February a reunion in South Africa... I just want to wish you ALL THE BEST - good luck with your project work, I'm sure everyone is very proud of you. It takes a lot of courage and commitment to go and live abroad for such a long period. Europe says hi and hope to meet you one day again. I'm anxious to read all your exciting stories... Enjoy it - but be careful out there, lots of love, Val
10th June 2006

Waiting for you in Dakar!
Bonjour Steve!!! Ca Va? Je pense a toi mon amie! I hope that you are enjoying your stay in Togo! I am in D.C. at the GAO, but will leave for Dakar in September! Don't forget, you owe me a visit so we can kick it in Senegal! Later! Ton Amie! Wendell

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb