Airport window shopping only takes up so much time


Advertisement
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

My summer!!!

I am currently sitting in the Philadelphia International Airport people watching and trying not to worry about whether I'll be able to get on the flight to Dublin at 845 tonight. After the taking the red-eye flight from Seattle with two screaming and kicking five year old boys behind me, I'm a wee bit tired. When we arrived at 630 this morning, I ended up finding a quiet corner with one of PHL's white rocking chairs and slept for a surprisingly solid 3 hours!
At this point, I'm getting really excited for flying into Dublin, and the subsequent arrival at the apartments we're staying in for the summer. I am definitely not to the point yet of really understanding the extent of the awesome-ness my summer will bring, but hopefully will be there by the end of the week!
For those of you who do not know, I am interning in Dublin for the summer through a school-sponsored program to which I will receive credit towards my psych degree... the twist is that I have been placed to work for an award winning brewery that specializes in porters. So yes- I will be working in a pub all summer. But it is focused on the organization of the business, and how each of the departments (kitchen, bar, brewery, etc.) work together to make up the successful business that it is. I had requested to work in a restaurant because I wanted to gain a broader culinary repertoire as well as give myself a little more experience to decide whether to actually pursue a culinary career, or stick with my life-long goal of becoming a psychologist. Ohhhh the decisions. Regardless though- I can't even imagine the kinds of interesting and awesome people I'm going to meet while working at the pub. I'm sooo not jealous of the internships others in the program have gotten- I mean where else would you be able to truly embrace and come to understand the culture of Ireland better than in a pub?!

Hell's yeah... Dublin, Ireland here I come.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb