A Day of Rest


Advertisement
Published: November 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The upcoming tripThe upcoming tripThe upcoming trip

Tomorrow we would be back at JFK for our return trip across the Atlantic. We'd be seeing a lot of places I had been to before. Worrying about the kids, dogs and the house while we were gone and going on a trip that was kind of old territory to me kept my enthusiasm level a bit low. I was looking forward to my first view of Scotland though. (The sidetrip to Paris was an option we didn't sign on to)
We have a whole day between our Italy/Greece tour and the upcoming British Isles tour. It's not even enough time to reset my Circadian Rhythms and my internal clock. But it's a good thing that I fell asleep rather early and rose in the early dawn because we have a lot to do before leaving for JFK tomorrow.

First on the list of to-do's was to get Zeta from the kennel. After almost three weeks it was nice to know the dog still recognized me. Too bad she wasn't any smarter after all that time at Dog Camp. Fortunately Zeta did not suffer one of her usual bouts with carsickness.

After driving her home, it was time for Gail and I to cash in some bonds to subsidize Tyler's upcoming tuition. That's why we got them in the first place, but it's still tough saying goodbye to so much money.

After the bank run, we ran out to buy provisions for the kids and the dogs. We were actually about to leave them on their own for the next two weeks while we galivanted through Ireland and England. The whole time we were shopping I had a very nervous feeling about leaving them alone, but they were older than I was when my parents first left me on my own while they spent two weeks at the Shore. Recalling the beer party I had that first weekend they were gone might be why I was feeling a little queasy.

We had to hurry home so that Gail could wash 17 days worth of dirty clothes from the Mediterranean jaunt and get Tyler's dress clothes prepped for his return to work. I spent an hour cutting the grass and trying to clean-up the pool. The best part of the day was dining on burgers from our grill that night at dinner. As good as the food was on our trip, there's nothing quite like a homecooked hamburger.

By the end of the day I was so exhausted that I was ready for bed at nine o'clock. I decided to put off packing until the next morning. We had to be up at the school at noon in order to catch our bus to Kennedy airport.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb