The Believer is happy, the doubter is wise


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania » Honey Brook
November 28th 2011
Published: December 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It's that time of year againIt's that time of year againIt's that time of year again

It's that time of year where all of the leaves decide to depart the trees and inconveniently displace themselves on our lawn... I lay in the grass with Bill while Lee does all of the hard work :)

The Believer is happy, the doubter is wise
-Greek Proverb



Some things cannot be rushed, and sometimes BETTER things will come to those who are willing to wait a little bit for what they want.

With this being said, Lee and I have made some decisions, or rather we have decided not to make any decisions at all. Well that doesn't really make any sense does it? I guess the conclusion that we have come to in the past month is that we are not sure if we both are at a point in our lives where we can say that in a years time we will make the huge jump to take a year off and go galivant around the globe. A lot of unknowns surround our lives currently and so we have decided that we must wait to see where current opportunities lead us... In reality all this really means is that it is not quite realistic to set off on such an extensive trip in less than a years time. It may be more like two years.

We both have a laundry list of things we want to accomplish, see and do. I thought the
BillBillBill

This is our beloved dog William aka Bill
best way for us to do everything that we want to do would be to do it all in a years time while traveling from place to place. However, with other opportunities popping up for the both of us in the past two months or so we have started to think that perhaps we should not have a definite timeline for when we will go on an extended world trip. We are still setting aside money into a savings account for said trip, but we are just going to take a more "play it by ear" type of approach.

I guess this decision, or lack or making a definite decision, arose because of two main instances. One being that Lee is very happy about the prospect of being promoted shortly after the new year, and the other being that I have found the most perfect Masters Program that I am currently in the application process of and am very optimistic about 😊 The program is an International Peace and Conflict Resolution MA program with many built in study and live abroad opportunities!! Lee and I went to the open house at the University and both agreed that I could
Lee and BillLee and BillLee and Bill

My two favorites :)
not have put together a more perfect program myself.

This feels like the right path to take. This program will open up so many doors that will enable me to incorporate travel not only into my career but also into my everyday life.

In reference to travel my mother has always said, "Jennafer, why don't you just go and get it out of your system and then settle down!" To this my response is always the same, "Mom, it is not something that you just get out of your system. It is a part of you, and I could never stop wanting to see the world." While typing that last sentence I have realized how ironic it is that I had never noticed that I was acutally planning to do just what she was telling me to do. If we were to drop our lives right now and leave on a world trip, it would be a very long time until we would be able to make another trip with exhausting our funds and having to "start over" with our jobs upon arrival back home. So I suppose my fear should have been that we really would have
Bills annoying sleeping habitsBills annoying sleeping habitsBills annoying sleeping habits

Bill loves to spread out while sleeping... here we fell asleep at the foot of the bed while looking up honeymoon options online
made one large trip and then that would be it for a really long time. I truly believe that this program will open up a lifetime of travel doors for me and lead to never-ending travel bliss!

In the process of waiting for our world trip and eagerly anticipating Lee's promotion at work and my acceceptance into a grad program, we have a lot of fun small trips planned over the next few months 😊 And with my spontaneousness who knows, maybe a two or three month stint thrown in there......

We are currently having a hard time trying to decide where to take our "real" honeymoon. Seeing how I want to go everywhere and Lee is willing to go just about anywhere we are changing our minds every other day. One day we decide to go to Spain, the next day Italy, the next day New Zealand, the next Japan... China... Egypt... Thailand... and the list goes on and on and on.

A few small trips that are currently planned include my solo trip to Colorado to visit my best friend Natalie, a local trip to Longwood Gardens on my birthday because it is gorgeous around
Emery and BillEmery and BillEmery and Bill

Our Niece Emery and Bill sharing a drink from the hose
Christmas time, and a surprise overnight trip to NYC for Lee's Christmas present because he's never been!



Anyhow, as of late we have been greatly enjoying tossing around honeymoon ideas and spending a few long and lazy afternoons with our very spoiled pup Bill. I thought it would be nice to include some recent pictures of him 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb