Who likes Erie?!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania » Erie
October 13th 2011
Published: October 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I thought it was the appropriate time to add an entry for Erie. I've been living up here for a month and a half now. I was accepted into the Applied Intelligence Masters Program at Mercyhurst College. My advice from everyone: "good luck in Erie, get some good snow tires!"

We haven't gotten into the winter yet, but so far I'm loving it up here in Erie. The city is a little gem of Pennsylvania. It is home to four major universities and a number of smaller technical institutes.

But what I love about this place so far is that there's always something going on. Maybe it's the city's way of saying 'hey, I know we have miserable drawn out snowy/icy winters, but look at all the other cool stuff we do!" With a winery in neighboring town North East, there are always wine tours and wine tastings for an inexpensive date or girls night out. Almost every weekend there's something going on: fall festivals, apple festival, heritage festival... etc. They even had a day when you could bring your dogs to the bay front and they had stands with treats, toys, and gear for your pups!

The city is also equipped with one of the most phenomenal gym's I've ever been in this far. 83,000 square feet - three indoor pools, separate steam room, whirlpool, sauna in each of the locker rooms, and classes that run from 6am to 8pm that are included in the membership.

My experience so far has been amazing up here in Erie, snow capital of PA. We'll see how much I continue to enjoy it when the snow starts falling!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb