The Caldwell Travel Journal


Advertisement
Published: July 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Our motorhomeOur motorhomeOur motorhome

Rested and ready to go.
Welcome to the new travel blog of Craig and Barb Caldwell.

Sadly, our previous travel blog host, TravelPod, went out of business. It was a great way to journal our dream trip to Alaska in 2016 and if you had followed us during that trip we hope you will enjoy following along with us as we try out this new travel blog as well.

Our next big motorhome trip will be to the western US with a focus on visiting the national parks of southern Utah. We have never been to Utah and we are excitedly looking forward to the trip. The pictures we've seen look fantastic. We expect to leave on August 16 or 17. We haven't set a specific date for our return because after the Utah national parks we hope to travel to other places out west, but I expect we will be on the road for a month or so. If you recall, we had some mechanical difficulties with the motorhome's leveling jacks in Alaska. It was quite an ordeal and expense to get the problem fixed after the trip but Camping World in Akron was a big help. I replaced all six tires this summer and did other minor fix-ups, so hopefully we are set to go again. I'm sure there will be unexpected challenges along the way. We anticipate traveling for at least part of the trip with our friends John and Linda, the folks who camped with us in Alaska for a couple weeks last year in a rental motorhome. They enjoyed it so much that they bought their own unit this spring.

This year there will be a total solar eclipse visible across a swath of the US on August 21, an event that happens maybe once or twice in a lifetime, and just by chance we will be traveling through the zone of total eclipse on that day, in Nebraska. When I saw that I set up camping reservations for that date right away and I'm glad I did. With luck we will have clear skies and an unusual bonus experience on this trip.

So, check back with us in August!

Advertisement



6th September 2017

Welcome to Travelblog...
I'm one of the Moderators. FYI, you can transfer your Travelpod blogs to this site. See the first notice under Site News on your Control Panel for how to do it. I would love to read about all your travels. BTW, I went to Geneva College. We played football against Edinboro.
6th September 2017

Travelpod transfer
Thank you. I just might do that, transfer my previous blog to Travelblog, but I think I'll wait until I get back home from our current trip. Good to hear from another (at least at one time) Pennsylvanian!

Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1096s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb