Our life in an RV "The beginning"


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon
April 10th 2003
Published: September 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We have finally stopped traveling and I am sitting on my butt (and not moving) just like most retired people do. It’s about time!!! Let me figure this out… I finished working on April 11 and haven’t stopped doing stuff until now, June 19. Something is wrong here. Anyway, I thought you would be wondering what is going on so I am here to give you an update.

When we left Chico on Sunday the rain was raining and the wind was blowing. Really a lousy day to travel. It took Mike almost 2 hours to unhook everything outside the trailer and get it ready for travel. I’m smart and my job is to get the inside of the trailer ready for travel. Nice and dry and warm inside. The trip to Grants Pass was a bit scary. It was our first trip longer than 1 hour pulling the trailer. We had to go thru some construction zones that were a very tight fit. We were both on the edge of our seats the whole trip up there. But no problems or fatalities. We stayed a month in Grants Pass visiting with Mike’s family and doing some work on the trailer. You might remember me telling you that Mike’s parents house burned down in March. While we were there I spent most of my time writing up the loss inventory on the house for the insurance company. My recommendation to you is don’t use Allstate. They are fine when you are paying the premiums but when you have claim they are a nightmare. So I spent about 2 weeks of my time doing that. In between I got sick, first a sinus infection and then just as I was recuperating from the infection I got the flu. Stop it already!! I finally recovered just a couple of days before we left.

While we were in Grants Pass we took a weekend and went north to Albany Oregon to go to the RV driving school. It was a trucker who drove with us for 2 days and taught all about turning, backing and general RV driving. I feel so much better and more confident about towing the beast (our fond nickname for our trailer). I was scared stiff in the beginning. During the course, this guy had us driving thru downtown and down crowded residential streets with cars parked on both sides. I am happy to say once again, no fatalities.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.323s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 19; qc: 83; dbt: 0.1385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb