TransCan Plus


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon
September 21st 2008
Published: September 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi All,
It’s been awhile since my last post and I have covered some miles. From my last post, I bicycled up Vancouver Island to Port McNeill, (I originally planned on Port Hardy, but I ran out of daylight so Port McNeill it was!), to go sea kayaking and hopefully see Orca. Johnstone Straight is a popular area for whale watching as there’s a resident population as well as transient pods of Orca that travel the Straight regularly. Beautiful views of the coast range mountains on the ride up, but I rarely got more than a glimpse as most of the time it was foggy, overcast, and drizzly as is the norm for the north Island. In Port McNeill I called a kayak touring company in Port Hardy, but they didn’t have any day tours and the outfitter in Port McNeill didn’t have any day trips until the next week. Luckily a few miles south at Telegraph Cove there was an outfitter that did have day trips. Telegraph Cove is a very small and picturesque cove with some nice 13% grades to get in to it! Luckily the fog lifted somewhat and the drizzle stopped for the day of the tour. A nice day on the water with 2 other couples and a guide, but unfortunately we didn’t see any Orca. We did see Sea Lions, Bald Eagles, Osprey, and Black Bear.
Headed back south and by mid island the sun was out! Spent a day in Victoria, a very nice small city, and then took the Ferry to Port Angeles in the states. I rode along the Columbia river, but once again as I neared the Pacific the fog rolled in. Cool days of riding with off and on fog down highway 101 through Washington and into Oregon, with incredible views. I arrived at my daughters in Yachats Oregon the afternoon of the 18th.
I’ll be here about a week catching up on email, bike maintenance, and researching the next part of the journey. The days are getting shorter and the nights cooler though so I won’t be resting too long!!!
Hope this finds everyone well.
George


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb