McMinnville


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Salem
January 12th 2006
Published: January 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

What is the first order of business when one reaches McMinnville Oregon? Watch a demonstration of Harry Potter killing dung bugs of course. Then came the hamster gathering foray to PETCO, and a bike ride with puddles in my shoes. What would you do?

I have spent the last three days with my good friends Jenny and Stewart and Rebecca (9) and Nick (6) at their home in McMinnville Oregon.

The first night we went to PETCO to pick out two hamsters, Fluffy and Fuzzball. Being Rebecca’s Godfather, I naturally took the camera to record the adventure. Since no one has never told me what being a Godfather means I figure this as good as any role model.

Turns out you are not supposed to take cameras into PETCO because the animal rights folks have ‘doctored’ photos and put them up on the internet. Even when I have dropped out of society I am being a rebel rouser. Does a tiger ever change its spots? Maybe at PETCO they have a machine in back that does.

On Tuesday I took my first bike ride of the trip heading up Hwy 99 to the Trappest Abby just outside of Lafayette OR. Located appropriately enough on Abby road it is a place I have considered doing silent retreats at.

Upon arrival I entered the reception and was warmly greeted by someone who talks. The first thing I did was pop the lens out of my glasses. Being a Catholic institution the Abby had a maintenance man with a Leatherman and a very small screwdriver. Glasses fixed I was just in time for Prayers before lunch.

On the way back the rain came in sheets. The one thing that GORE-TEX has not figured out how to beat is Gravity. I have my trusty GORE_TEX jacket and new GORE-TEX lined shoes. I have very nice bike pants that shed the water well, until they get overloaded and then they direct a small stream straight down into my shoes. Knowing there is a shower at the end of a ride like that makes all the difference.

I Wednesday morning the rain was falling hard as I joined the family breakfast routine. The wind had blown down two sections of their fence. As I got up to join the crowd at the window my foot slid as if there was liquid on the ground. Funny, there should not be anything there my brain said as I went about my business. A discussion insured as to whether the fence needed to be righted before work.

When I sat back down at the table I felt a drop of water on my head. “I don’t think you have to worry about the fence, cause your roof is leaking”. A foray into the attic confirmed that the flashing on the chimney had failed and that I am two for two in the things that brake department. Hello Family, here I come…..

From here I have a series of one day stop overs in Salem, San Francisco, and Los Angeles. Then I will land in Prescott Arizona to spend some time with good old Mom.


Advertisement



13th January 2006

Snowbirds
I guess it's the time of year to head to AZ...Mike and I will be in Phoenix area this weekend for the rock-n-roll marathon (though only doing the 1/2). The weather reports look great!
18th January 2006

Hi
Forgot to mention in previous comments that your blog photos are great! Can't wait to see more photos, especially of Ireland. Are you taking the train to LA? I like that train - the Coast Starlight, and have taken it many times. Sorry to hear that you are a domestic jinx. Hope that clears up soon!!

Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 16; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0695s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb